Back

It’s our August publication day!

It’s our August publication day, and there are some wonderful new books from Nosy Crow out this month – here’s what you can find in shops today!

It’s publication day for A Tiny Little Story: Zoo, the second in the incredibly stylish A Tiny Little Story series from the highly regarded greetings card illustrator team Lisa Jones and Edwards Underwood. With colourful pictures, simple words and a crinkly tactile page, these charming little books are perfect for the tiniest of babies. Each book also has a Velcro strap, to secure to a buggy, inside a cot, or wherever else they’ve decided to read that day. Presented in a sturdy box with a see-through window, Zoo is a beautifully designed cloth book package – the perfect gift for a newborn.

Tiny Little Story: Zoo

It’s publication day for Cat Learns to Listen at Moonlight School, the latest adventure in the Moonlight School series, written by Simon Puttock and beautifully illustrated by Ali Pye. Miss Moon is taking her class on a magical moonlit nature walk, but Cat spies a glittery firefly and suddenly… she’s LOST! Luckily there are lots of clues for her friends to follow and, soon, they are reunited with a very relieved little Cat who’s learnt a valuable lesson. This fabulous third book in the series is a gentle, heart-warming story about the importance of staying safe by listening to grown-ups and not wandering off. Here’s a look inside:

Buy the book online.

The Colouring Book of Cards and EnvelopesUnicorns and Rainbows is in shops today – a fantastic activity book where you can colour in, tear out and create 24 unique card and envelope designs. Designed by Rebecca Jones, and in partnership with The National Trust, it also comes with a sheet of colourful stickers to seal your card, before sending it to a friend, relative, or favourite teacher. The stunningly detailed designs are perfect for children and adults alike!

The Colouring Book of Cards and Envelopes: Unicorns and Rainbows

Buy the book online.

We are ac-chew-ally unbelievably thrilled to be publishing You Can’t Make Me Go to Witch School today. Daisy Wart, a Shakespearean actress with grand ambitions, is categorically NOT A WITCH, but she’s been left by her grandmother at Toadspit Towers School for Witches so now she’s FURIOUS. How will she become a famous star of the stage now?! Daisy soon gets drawn into the mysteries of Toadspit Towers, and discovers that she even has a few unexpected and (rather annoyingly) magical surprises up her sleeve… Bubbling over with brilliant artwork from Jamie Littler, and written by exciting new talent Em Lynas, this is the first in a magical new school series that’s perfect for fans of The Worst Witch, Harry Potter and Malory Towers. Here’s a look inside:

Buy the book online.

And we’re also launching a second brilliant fiction series today with A Pony Called Secret: A New Beginning, the first book in a brand new series by Olivia Tuffin, author of the Palomino Pony books. Alice adores her young pony, Secret, even though he’s always getting into trouble… if only Secret were easier to train! But a chance encounter with the mysterious Finn changes everything. He’s the most daring rider Alice has ever seen, and different from anyone she’s ever met. Might he hold the key to Secret’s future success? These are pony books with all the classics ingredients, full of acton, adventure and a genuine love of horses. Here’s a look inside:

Buy the book online.

Two books from our Rounds series are publishing in paperback today: Parker Penguin and Olive Owl. Written and illustrated by Barry and Emma Tranter, each book in this innovative new series takes the reader on a journey through an animal’s life-cycle, explaining how it eats, grows, defends itself, and reproduces. With a strong, clear narrative, friendly characters, fascinating facts and graphic illustrations, these are fun and informative introductions to animal life cycles. As they’re publishing in paperback, you’ll also be able to download the Stories Aloud audio – simply scan the QR code on the inside of the book and listen along as you read! Some of our Rounds stories are also available as interactive apps, too! Check out the apps of Parker Penguin and Franklin Frog, available to download now on the App Store. Here’s a look inside Parker Penguin and Olive Owl:

Buy the book online.

Buy the book online.

Also out in paperback today is The Doughnut of Doom, written and illustrated by Elys Dolan. It’s just another ordinary day in Food Town… OR IS IT?! After news comes in of a hungry monster doughnut on the rampage, Nancy McNutty, peanut butter sandwich and rookie reporter, is on the case! Will she be able to put a stop to the doughnut’s ravenous rampage and save Food Town? This rich and highly detailed picture book takes inspiration from 1950s B-movies and is packed with details and hidden jokes that will appeal to children and adults alike. Here’s a look inside:

Buy the book online.

And last but not least, we’re thrilled to publish a brand new board book edition of Pip and Posy: The Bedtime Frog by Axel Scheffler today – perfectly sized for the tiniest of hands! When Posy goes to stay over at Pip’s house she realises she has forgotten to bring her very favourite toy frog. Posy can’t sleep without it! Desperate to help, Pip offers Posy a range of different toys to try to make her feel better, but only Pip’s own, very favourite, pig toy will do… Real-life stories with real heart, Pip and Posy work through common childhood troubles together and find a happy conclusion. Hooray! Here’s a look inside:

Buy the book online.

Congratulations to all of this month’s authors and illustrators!

Back

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Back to top