Back

Sweet Pizza by G.R. Gemin wins the 2017 Tir na n-Og Award

We are absolutely delighted that Sweet Pizza has won the English Language category of the 2017 Tir na n-Og Awards – the second time author G.R. Gemin has been awarded the prize!

The awards are presented annually by the Welsh Books Council to honour original work by authors and illustrators of children’s books in Welsh and English, and are sponsored by CILIP Wales (The Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals) and the Welsh Books Council. Giancarlo’s debut children’s novel, Cowgirl, won the prize in 2015, and it’s an incredible honour to be awarded the prize a second time for Sweet Pizza.

Like Cowgirl, this is another wonderful book for 9+ readers. A great story that has immigration at its core, Sweet Pizza is perfect for fans of Jacqueline Wilson and Michael Morpurgo – it’s got fantastic dramatic writing, strong characters, and big-hearted social realism.

Joe’s family run the local cafe in Bryn Mawr. It’s seen better days and Joe’s mam wants to sell it. But it was started before the war by Joe’s Italian great-grandfather, and he can’t bear to see it shut. And Joe loves his Italian heritage: the language, the opera, the lasagne! As Joe looks down the depressing High Street, he’s determined to bring this diverse town together through good food and fine times! He vows to save the family business, and find out more about his past at the same time….

Here’s a look inside the book:

Buy the book.

Congratulations, Giancarlo!

Back

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Back to top