Login | Sign Up

Nosy Crow

Toggle menu
The Grunts in Trouble

The Grunts in Trouble

Author Philip Ardagh
Illustrator Axel Scheffler
Series The Grunts
Publication date 06 Jun 2013





Clear selection
Size N/A

Mr and Mrs Grunt, who are neither clean nor clever, live with their adopted – in fact, abducted – son, Sunny, in a donkey-drawn caravan somewhere or other at some time that is a bit like now but not exactly now. Sunny is an odd-looking boy, what with his left ear being higher than his right ear and that kind of sticky-up hair which NEVER goes flat, even if you massage glue into it and then jump on it. Together the unusual family find themselves in frankly improbable but very funny adventures involving bendy railings, double-barrelled shotguns, full-fat yoghurt and, always, a beard of bees.

Take a Look Inside

What the Critics Said

“Philip Ardagh is a master storyteller and he narrates this tale with zest, irreverence and a keen sense of the absurd. Packed with jokes and characters as weird and wonderful as you could possibly hope for, this new series is destined to be adored by young readers.”

– Booktrust

Show More...

“Highly eventful and effortlessly funny, it’s very ably illustrated by Gruffalo superstar Axel Scheffler, while Ardagh’s nimble-footed, rapid fire prose demonstrates a real intelligence – at the service, thankfully, of the delightfully disgusting and silly.”

– Kids Confidential

“Author Philip Ardagh and illustrator Axel Scheffler press all the right buttons with a new series featuring the outrageously comic Grunt family and their hilarious ragbag assortment of neighbours … Children will love the antics of this amazingly weird family and the extra special illustrations that bring the story to life. The adventures of the Grunts are set to run and run…”

– The Pocklington Post

“Axel Scheffler’s illustrations impart a quirky comic charm to Ardagh’s daft and comic story about the Grunts, whose silliness and bad behaviour are in the tradition of Roald Dahl’s Twits and Andy Stanton’s Mr Gum … Ardagh will always go the extra mile for the sake of a joke, even to the point of being a bit tiresome, like giggly seven-year-olds getting carried away. So he is perfectly on their wavelength.”

Children’s Book of the Week

– The Sunday Times

“Gloriously repulsive … as always with Ardagh, there is the clever word-play, irony and plain silliness that make his books such fun …. To add to the enjoyment, the book is full of wonderfully incisive and daft illustrations by Axel Scheffler.”

Top Children’s Books of 2012

– The Telegraph

“From new readers will come giggles of glee, total involvement and genuine sympathy with poor Sunny … The atmosphere of chaos and disorder is beautifully depicted in Axel Scheffler’s illustrations”

– We Love This Book

“Their adventures are as unsavoury as they are entertaining, as Axel Scheffler’s illustrations wittily show. Fans of Andy Stanton’s Mr Gum and Roald Dahl’s The Twits will delight in this disgusting but amiable family.”

– The Guardian

“Madcap escapades and eccentric characters are the order of the day in the first of a new series from this new pairing with oodles of comic potential.”

– The Bookseller

Rights Sold

Chinese (simplified), French, German, Hungarian, Italian, Turkish


Write a review

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Grunts in Trouble”

Back to top