Early praise for The Life and Time of Lonny Quicke - Nosy Crow Skip to content
Posted by Sam, May 18, 2021

Early praise for The Life and Time of Lonny Quicke

This month we published The Life and Time of Lonny Quicke – a brilliant new novel about family, secrets and terrible power, from the highly-acclaimed author of TrooFriend and The Middler, Kirsty Applebaum.

And today we’re very pleased to share these outstanding early reviews!

Lonny is a lifeling. He has the power to heal any living creature and bring it back from the dead. But he pays a price for this gift – by lengthening the creature’s life, he shortens his own. So Lonny has to be careful, has to stay hidden in the forest. Because if people knew what he could do, Lonny would be left with no life at all…

A gripping, atmospheric and heartfelt new story for readers aged 9-12, The Life and Time of Lonny Quicke is perfect for fans of Malorie Blackman, Meg Rosoff, and Frances Hardinge.

“A modern-day fairytale with a unique voice and fantastic folkloric premise.” – Peter Bunzl, author of Cogheart

“I declare it, it’s a masterpiece!…Genius idea, beautifully, wonderfully told. I couldn’t have enjoyed it any more.” –Nicola Penfold, author of Where the World Turns Wild

“Tense and twisty, The Life and Time of Lonny Quicke is masterfully written. A page-turner with a unique and intriguing premise… This is going on my ‘keep forever’ shelves.” – Julie Pike, author of The Last Spell Breather

Read the first few chapters below:

The Life and Time of Lonny Quicke is out now – you can order a copy form Waterstones here, Amazon here, or from the Nosy Crow website here.

Don’t forget to sign up to our newsletter here to be the first to know about our new books, early previews, giveaways and much more.