Back

Early reviews for The Grunts in Trouble

thegrunts.jpg-4753.jpg

It’s not out until next week, but already, The Grunts in Trouble, the first book in the brand new series by Philip Ardagh and Axel Scheffler, is getting some great reviews.

Last month we wrote about an early review for the book in The Guardian. Over the weekend, it was reviewed by Martin Chilton for The Telegraph and Nicolette Jones for The Sunday Times, and they both loved it. It was even named The Times’ Children’s Book of the Week!

Martin wrote:

“Gloriously repulsive … as always with Ardagh, there is the clever word-play, irony and plain silliness that make his books such fun …. To add to the enjoyment, the book is full of wonderfully incisive and daft illustrations by Axel Scheffler.”

And Nicolette wrote:

“Axel Scheffler’s illustrations impart a quirky comic charm to Ardagh’s daft and comic story about the Grunts, whose silliness and bad behaviour are in the tradition of Roald Dahl’s Twits and Andy Stanton’s Mr Gum … Ardagh will always go the extra mile for the sake of a joke, even to the point of being a bit tiresome, like giggly seven-year-olds getting carried away. So he is perfectly on their wavelength.”

If you’d like to know what they’re talking about, you can read chapter one of The Grunts in Trouble below:

You can also find out more about the book here or pre-order it here.

Back

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Back to top