Skip to content
Posted on October 8, 2020

Eight Nosy Crow Books included in the 2020 BookTrust Great Books Guide

We’re delighted to announce that eight Nosy Crow books are included in the 2020 BookTrust Great Books Guide! This printed guide of the BookTrust’s 100 favourite books from the previous year will be posted to all primary schools in England and Wales – and is also available to read on the BookTrust website, here.

100 First Words by Edward Underwood, Farmyard Friends: Portly Pig by Axel Scheffler, This is a Dog by Ross Collins, Nuts by Lou Peacock and Yasmeen Ismail, Wigglesbottom Primary: Break-Time Bunnies by Pamela Butchart and Becka Moor, I, Cosmo by Carlie Sorosiak, Orion Lost by Alastair Chisholm, and TrooFriend by Kirsty Applebaum have all been included in the 2020 guide.

100 First Words is a beautifully illustrated first words book and must-have for any nursery bookshelf. Featuring gorgeous artwork by homeware designer Edward Underwood, which is sure to appeal to parents and toddlers alike, little ones will love discovering what’s under the bold, easy-to-lift card flaps.


Buy the book.

From award-winning and bestselling illustrator, Farmyard Friends: Portly Pig is one of four in the friendly Farmyard Friends series. These board books are perfect for little ones who are learning about animals and animal sounds.

Buy the book.

This is a Dog is a delightfully silly story about a mischievous dog who loves the limelight, perfect for dog lovers young and old. Created by the winner of the UKLA Book Award and Amnesty CILIP Greenaway Honour, Ross Collins.

Buy the book.

Nuts is a hilarious picture book about learning to share, with deceptively simple text by Lou Peacock and energetic artwork by Yasmeen Ismail.

Buy the book.

Wigglesbottom Primary: Break-Time Bunnies is the sixth title in this fantastic, chaotic, and hilarious series. Written by award-winning Pamela Butchart and beautifully illustrated in two-colour by Becka Moor.

Buy the book.

A moving, funny, and tender story for 9-12 readers, with a wonderfully unique hero and an incredible voice, I, Cosmo is perfect for fans of Rebecca Stead and Kate DiCamillo – Charlotte’s Web meets Little Miss Sunshine.

Buy the book.

Orion Lost is a hugely gripping sci-fi adventure featuring aliens, space pirates, AI, and tons of action. When catastrophe strikes on the spaceship Orion, it is up to Beth and her friends to save the day…

Buy the book.

Unique, gripping, and sinister, TrooFriend is a story about artificial intelligence, friendship, and what it means to be human. From the highly acclaimed author of The Middler, Kirsty Applebaum.

Buy the book.

Congratulations to all our authors and illustrators included in the guide!