Back

Eleven of the best books about bears for toddlers!

The Best Kind of Bear - blog post

Next month we’re proud to be publishing The Best Kind of Bear, written by Greg Gormley and illustrated by David Barrow – a heart-warming picture book that encourages children to accept themselves and all their wonderful uniqueness, featuring a cuddly hero and bags of humour. And to celebrate its publication, we’ve compiled a list of some of our favourite books about bears for toddlers!

The Best Kind of Bear, written by Grey Gormley and illustrated by David Barrow

We start off our bear-themed list with The Best Kind of Bear, publishing in October.

When Nelly asks Bear what kind of bear he is, he isn’t entirely sure how to answer. So off he goes to find out . . . But none of the different bears he meets on his travels are like him. Grizzly bears don’t have funny stitches; polar bears don’t have washing labels attached to their bottoms; spectacled bears are simply not as soft and bouncy as him; and sunbears never wear smart bow-ties. So, disheartened, he returns to Nelly . . . only to discover EXACTLY what kind of bear he is after all – her own special bear!

And you can take inside the book below:

Buy the book.

Where’s Mrs Bear, by Ingela P Arrenhius

Our next bear book is one of the latest in our best-selling Felt Flaps series. Five beautifully illustrated spreads show a series of friendly autumnal animals (including Mrs Bear) hiding behind bright felt flaps. And there’s a mirror on the final page! With soft felt flaps for little hands, this is the perfect book to share with little ones.

WheresMrsBear

Buy the book.

Bizzy Bear series, by Benji Davies

No bear list would be complete without Bizzy Bear and his adventures! Featuring fun interactive sliders, these board books encourage little ones to get involved with the storytelling. In the latest instalment, Bizzy Bear: Train Driver, Bizzy arrives at the station just in time to start his exciting new job – as a train driver! Join him as he guides the big green steam engine through the city, across the level crossing, and then up into the high mountains. But where are he and his passengers going, and will they get there on time?

Here’s a video of the full series:

Buy the book.

Because I Love You, written by David Bedford and illustrated by Rebecca Harry

Our next cuddly tale is a firm family favourite which is sure to warm the hearts of readers young and old!

It’s bedtime for Little Bear, but as his mummy settles him in bed, he wonders if he’s had enough love that day. So Mummy Bear takes Little Bear on a journey, reminding him of everything they’ve done during the day and, most of all, the love they’ve shared.

Take a look at the painterly detail and adorable characters below:


Buy the book.

Goldilocks and the Three Bears, illustrated by Ed Bryan

This classic bear tale needs no introduction – a brilliantly simple and playful retelling brought to life by Ed Bryan’s vibrant illustrations!

When Goldilocks gets lost in the woods, she finds herself at a cosy little cottage. She is delighted to find three bowls of porridge on the table, three chairs in the living room and some very bouncy beds in the bedroom. But little does Goldilocks know, this cottage belongs to three bears, and they’re on their way back home…

Here’s a preview of the first few pages:

Buy the book.

The Boy and the Bear, written by Tracey Corderoy and illustrated by Sarah Massini

The Boy and the Bear is a wonderful story about friendship and belonging, perfect for sharing on a frosty autumn or winter evening – featuring lots of snow and beautiful illustrations that capture the change of seasons, this is an unmissable bear book!

When a lonely little boy receives an invitation to play written on a paper boat, it seems that he has found the best friend he’s been longing for – at last! But Bear isn’t quite the playmate the boy had imagined. If only he knew how to play games properly! But when Bear starts to build a treehouse, the boy is intrigued and a magical summer begins. As autumn passes and the first winter snowflakes start to fall, the boy is left alone, and only then does he truly realise what he has lost… Until at last spring comes again and the friends are joyfully reunited with a very special hug!

Buy the book.

There’s a Bear On My Chair, by Ross Collins

Award-winning author Ross Collins is known for his funny and original books – and this book is no exception! There’s a Bear On My Chair is perfect for fans of Jon Klassen and will have children laughing out loud.

Poor Mouse! A bear has settled in his favourite chair and it just isn’t big enough for two. Mouse tries all kinds of tactics to move the pesky Bear but nothing works and poor Mouse gives up. Once Mouse has eventually gone, Bear gets up and walks home. But wait – is that a Mouse in Bear’s house?!

And here’s a look inside:

Buy the book.

Nothing Can Frighten A Bear, written by Elizabeth Dale and illustrated by Paula Metcalf

This next book on the list is a brilliant bedtime story – a humorous, heart-warming tale for little bears who are scared of the dark or think they may have heard a monster…

Daddy Bear insists that nothing can frighten a bear – but when there’s a noise in the night, Baby Bear isn’t convinced. The bears set out to make sure there aren’t any monsters but, as they vanish one by one, it looks like Daddy Bear might not be so brave after all!

Buy the book.

Goldilocks and Just One Bear, by Leigh Hodgkinson

Leigh Hodgkinson reimagines the familiar fairytale of Goldilocks and the Three Bears, bringing her unique style of illustration and a brilliant twist on the original tale.

Many years have passed since Goldilocks caused chaos at the Bears’ house in the woods – but what happens when Little Bear wanders into the big city where Goldilocks now lives? Goldilocks is now grown up with a family and a rather smart apartment, so how will she react to coming home and finding that a very lost bear has been scoffing porridge, breaking chairs and sleeping in beds? Will she be cross, or is finally time to make amends?

Take a look inside below:

Buy the book.

A Bear is a Bear, written by Karl Newson and illustrated by Anuska Allepuz

Filled with charming illustrations and wonderful rhyming text, this is an unmissable bear book that really makes readers feel they are with Bear every step of his journey.

When one sleepy bear wakes up early from his winter sleep, he’s confused. Is he a bird? Or a moose? A fox perhaps? Or even a squirrel? No! He’s definitely a bear, and it’s time this bear went back to sleep…

Buy the book.

That Bear Can’t Babysit, written by Ruth Quayle and illustrated by Alison Friend

And last but not least, we have a delightful story filled with mischief!

When Mr and Mrs Burrow hire a babysitter, they are not expecting Bear. And Bear is NOT expecting seven little bunnies who are full of mischief. Together, the bunnies persuade Bear to read a scary book, give them sweets and chocolate spread for dinner, and go crazy with the garden hose! But when the bunnies find Bear sailing the high seas in a make-believe ship, suddenly he isn’t such a bad babysitter after all. When Mr and Mrs Burrow return, all the bunnies are peacefully tucked up in bed… Well, almost all of them.

Buy the book.

We hope this list has given you some bear book inspiration – and we’d love to know your favourite books about bears on Twitter!

 

Back

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Back to top