Back

Five funny books for 9 to 12 year-olds

Funny Books Twitter

From a fit of the giggles to all-out belly laughs, a funny book can truly brighten your day. So we’ve pulled together a selection of Nosy Crow books that are sure to make young readers hoot with laughter!

My Brother Is a Superhero, by David Solomons

Life is really unfair for comic-book-mad Luke, who narrowly misses out getting amazing superpowers from a visiting alien and all because he needed a wee! Instead, it’s his undeserving, never-read-a-comic-in-his-life brother, Zack, who gets all the glory. Prepare to blast off into an out-of-this-world action series packed with zany humour, hilarious baddies and a dash of sibling rivalry…

Buy the book from Waterstones.

We Won An Island, by Charlotte Lo

 When Luna and her family win a remote Scottish island they can’t believe their luck! But they all have very different plans for their new home … with some very hilarious results. From sheep pageants to mystery ice-cream vans to secret festivals, this is a brilliantly madcap, feel-good family adventure brimming with sunshine and hope!

Buy the book from Waterstones.

The Bigwoof Conspiracy, by Dashe Roberts

Welcome to Sticky Pines, where things get weird! When UFO-obsessed Lucy Sladan sneaks out into the middle of a thunderstorm to investigate unexplained disappearances in her hometown, she gets more than she bargained for… Holy Flippin’ Crudballs! Could it be that the legend of Bigwoof is true? Fast-paced, hilarious and with a brilliant retro sci-fi feel, readers will be gripped from the start as the mystery unfolds!

Buy the book from Waterstones.

When Good Geeks Go Bad, by Catherine Wilkins 

13-year-old Ella is sick of being thought of as a goody-two-shoes. Being good hasn’t got her anywhere, so why not try being bad for a while? But soon things start to spiral… Written by stand-up comedian Catherine Wilkins, this is a relatable coming-of-age story about friendships, frenemies, clueless parents and doing the right thing. Ella’s brilliant, witty observations about the injustices of teen life are a real highlight – perfect for fans of Louise Rennison and Holly Smale.

Buy the book from Waterstones.

The Spectre Collectors, by Barry Hutchison

Denzel can see ghosts, he just doesn’t know it… That is, until a terrifying mess of smoky black tendrils interrupts his maths homework! Realising his special talent, he’s soon snapped up by top-secret organisation, The Spectre Collectors, for whom spooky is a speciality. Follow Denzel and his best friend, Smithy, on a high-octane ghost-hunting adventure packed full of ghouls, magic and outrageous battles. Guaranteed to make you laugh like a (haunted) drain.

Buy the book from Waterstones.

We hope this list has given you some funny books to read! If you’d like to stay up-to-date with all our book news, you can sign up to our books newsletter with the form below.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
Back

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Back to top