Skip to content
Posted on December 15, 2020

Orion Lost shortlisted for the 2021 Bibliobuzz Children’s Book Award

The shortlist for the 2021 Bibliobuzz Children’s Book Award was announced yesterday by the Children’s Laureate, Cressida Cowell – and we’re absolutely delighted that Orion Lost, by Alastair Chisholm, has made the shortlist!

Bibliobuzz is a literature programme run by Alexandra Palace, Haringey Libraries and Haringey Schools Librarians Group. The programme encourages young people aged 9-12 years old to read six selected books, before being asked to vote for their favourite.

Hugely gripping, with incredible twists and fast-paced action, Orion Lost is an unputdownable science fiction adventure – perfect for fans of Star Wars and Ender’s Game.

The transport ship Orion is four months out of Earth when catastrophe strikes – leaving the ship and everyone on board stranded in deep space

Suddenly it’s up to thirteen-year-old Beth and her friends to navigate through treacherous and uncharted territory to reach safety. But a heavily-damaged ship, space pirates, a mysterious alien species, and an artificial intelligence that Beth doesn’t know if she can trust means that getting home has never been so difficult…

You can read the first chapter of Orion Lost below:

The winner of the Bibliobuzz Children’s Book Award will be announced next year. You can pick up a copy of Orion Lost from Waterstones here, Bookshop.org here, or directly from Nosy Crow here.

Congratulations, Alastair!