Back

Our new January books are here!

January Books Blog Post

Our first batch of books for 2019 are out TODAY! We’ve got a fantastic collection of new books – with wonderful new novelty, non-fiction, picture books and middle grade fiction in shops, there’s something for everyone. Here’s what you can find from Nosy Crow in January:

We’ve reissued three much-loved Bizzy Bear books by Benji Davies, now in white board with super-smooth slider mechanisms, perfect for little hands! The colours are brighter, but the rhymes are the same! This month we have reissued Bizzy Bear: Knights’ CastleBizzy Bear: Building Site and Bizzy Bear: Zoo Ranger. Rich in visual detail and with five chunky sliders to push and pull in each book, Bizzy Bear’s adventures encourage preschoolers to get involved in the storytelling.

Bizzy-Bear-Knights-Castle-13674-1.jpg

Find out more

Bizzy-Bear-Building-Site-13742-1.jpg

Find out more

Bizzy-Bear-Zoo-Ranger-13669-1.jpg

Find out more

We’re excited to have published You’re Not a Proper Pirate, Sidney Green!, written by Ruth Quayle and illustrated by Deborah Allwright. Sidney Green loves going on rip-roaring adventures with his dog, Jemima. Together, they race cars, sail all the way to Africa and build an enormous castle, complete with a moat full of crocodiles. But Captain Shipshape and his pirate band are NOT happy. They think it’s time for Sidney Green to become a Proper Pirate – right now, not “in a minute”. What will Sidney Green do?

Here’s a look inside You’re Not a Proper Pirate, Sidney Green!:

Find out more

Today we’ve also published the second book in our So You Think You’ve Got It Bad? series, published in collaboration with The British Museum – look out for So You Think You’ve Got it Bad? A Kid’s Life in Ancient Greece. Written by the award-winning author Chae Strathie, and brought to life with rich, humorous illustrations by Maris Morea, this fascinating and hilarious book explores just how difficult life really was for children in Ancient Greece, from living on a diet of blood soup whilst wearing nothing but a cloak, to having to learn a poem that was over 15,000 lines long! Probably the first book about ancient Greece to feature a race between a go-kart and a goose, this is a must read for kids with a passion for horrible history!

Look inside:

Find out more

The latest Secret Diaries book is out today – National Trust: The Secret Diary of Kitty Cask, Smuggler’s Daughter. Fact meets fiction in this thrilling story of 18th century smuggling and intrigue from Roald Dahl Funny Prize winning author Philip Ardagh and with hilarious illustrations from Jamie Littler. Kitty Cask is a smuggler’s daughter. In the Cornish coastal village of Minnock, Kitty and her family make their living as “free traders” – secretly bringing contraband goods into the country while evading the corrupt Redcoats who work for the King. Kitty isn’t supposed to be involved in any of her father’s schemes… but she’s very good at creeping out at night, and before too long she is caught in the thick of the action – salvaging shipwrecks, staging prison-breaks, and staying one step ahead of the tyrannical excisemen! This book is perfect for fans of Horrible Histories, combining fascinating historical facts with great characters and exciting plotlines.

Here’s a look inside the book:

Buy the book

Little Bird Flies, written by Karen McCombie, is out now – the hugely exciting first book in the gripping new middle-grade series. Bridie lives on the remote Scottish island of Torrnish, the youngest of three sisters. Although she loves her island, with its wild seas and big skies, she guiltily nurses a secret dream of flight – to America and the freedom of the New World. But her family are struggling under the spiteful oppression of the new Laird, and it seems that even some of the Laird’s own household are desperate to leave. When the Laird’s full cruelty becomes apparent, there’s no more time for daydreams as Bridie needs to help the people she loves escape to safety.

Here’s a look inside Little Bird Flies:

Find out more

The third instalment in the Snow Sisters series has hit the shelves, introducing Snow Sisters: The Frozen Rainbow! Written by Astrid Foss and illustrated by Monique Dong, this is a a beautifully illustrated, sparkly fantasy fiction series for 7+ readers, full of magic, adventure and cute animals. In their third adventure, the girls rush to the mysterious Rainbow Pools. But the Shadow Witch is one step ahead of them! Faced with bubbling lava, can the girls reach the purple Everchanging Light before it’s too late?

Here’s a look inside Snow Sisters: The Frozen Rainbow:

Find out more

Today we’re also excited to be publishing When Good Geeks Go Bad – a brilliantly funny new story from Catherine Wilkins, author of the much-loved My Best friend and Other Enemies series! When Ella’s dad refuses to let her have cool school shoes or stay up later than 9:30, Ella decides to take things into her own hands. Being good hasn’t got her anywhere, so why not try being bad for a while? It certainly looks a lot more fun and what’s a few detentions here and there? But going bad is a slippery slope and soon things are starting to spiral out of control. Can Ella get things back on track? Or is she going to end up with egg on her face?

Here’s a look inside When Good Geeks Go Bad:

Find out more

And to coincide with the launch of When Good Geeks Go Bad, we have reissued Catherine Wilkins’ My Best friend and Other Enemies series with shiny new covers! Follow Jess on her wacky school adventures in: My Best Friend and Other Enemies, My Brilliant Life and Other Disasters, My Great Success and Other Failures and My School Musical and Other Punishments! This series is funny, wise and will touch a nerve with everyone who reads it.




Find out more

If you’d like to stay up-to-date with all of our book news, you can sign up to our books newsletter at this page, or with the form below, and you’ll never miss a thing:

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
Back

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Back to top