Back

Our new May books are almost here!

May Books

There are some wonderful new books from Nosy Crow coming out next month – from interactive novelty and non-fiction, to picture books and middle grade fiction, there’s something for everyone. Here’s a look at what you can find in shops in May:

To kick things off, we have a duo of new Sound-Button Stories, illustrated by the marvellous Nikki Dyson. Follow Elsie Elephant and Monty Monkey as they go on adventures and cause havoc in their native jungles and savannahs. These chunky board books are filled with a hilarious rhyming text, stunning illustrations, and a big sound button that children will love pressing again and again… and there’s a handy on/off function, too! Their sturdy format and rounded corners make these ideal for lively toddlers.

Sound-button Stories: Monty Monkey

Find out more

Sound-Button Stories: Elsie Elephant

Find out more

To complete our set of sound books out in May, we’re excited to say that Happy Birthday to You! is publishing soon! Inside you’ll find the lyrics and tune of Happy Birthday in a charming gift board book, including a sound-button on every spread and a light-up birthday candle on the very last page! Follow the cute animals musicians as they make their way to Little Otter’s birthday bash – and they’ve all brought their instruments for a surprise celebration. Press the buttons to hear them play their different instruments… and join in with the band for a very special Happy Birthday! Illustrated by Nicola Slater, the illustrator of the new Hello… series, this is a perfect book to gift and to treasure.

Happy Birthday to You!

Find out more

For our youngest Pip and Posy fans, the wait is over – we’ll be publishing Axel Scheffler‘s Pip and Posy: The New Friend in a new board book format next month. Pip and Posy are having a lovely day at the seaside, but when Posy takes a nap, Pip makes friends with a boy called Zac. Zac is very cool AND he’s really good at handstands, so to her dismay, Posy finds that Pip is more interested in playing with his new friend than her…

Here’s a look inside:

Find out more

Next up is Oh Me, Oh My, A Pie!, the first of two picture books publishing in May, and a brand new story written and illustrated by the multi-award-winning  Jan Fearnley. A nice old grandma bakes a pie, but – oh me, oh my! – that yummy treat is stolen by a greedy fox, then lost and found by a mouse, snatched by a cat, grabbed by a dog, and plucked away by an owl… Oh me, oh my! Will those naughty animals learn to share? … And will Grandma ever get her pie back? A fantastically funny, rhyming story.

Look inside:

Find out more

This Zoo is Not for You is publishing in paperback next month! When a small platypus visits the zoo, the animals all assume he has come about the vacancy, and he is swiftly taken through a rigorous interview process. But the platypus is far too bland for the chameleons, not graceful enough for the flamingos, and his tricks will never impress the monkeys. But hang on – why did the Platypus REALLY come to the zoo? Get ready for a rollicking rhyming picture book about acceptance, belonging, and throwing really great parties, too! Written and illustrated by the award-winning Ross Collins, the creator of the marvellous There’s A Bear On My Chair, this book’s sure not to disappoint!

Look inside:

Find out more

Summer’s almost here, and it’s the perfect time for Go Wild on the River, an awesome adventure handbook written by Goldie Hawk, wonderfully illustrated by Racheal Saunders, and published in collaboration with The National Trust. Young adventurers are sure to love this funny and informative, pocket-sized guide to exploring rivers. Learn what to pack, how to spot river animals and wildlife, how to build your own raft, how to catch fish, and much, much more!

Look inside:

Find out more

Our second National Trust title is an interactive sticker-book, lavishly illustrated by Nikki Dyson. Sharks, Seahorses and other British Sea Creatures is the third in a glorious sticker book series, and is brimming with facts about weird and wonderful sea creatures and their homes. With four pages of wildlife stickers, you can stick the porpoises in the harbour, fill the rock pools with sea urchins, add an octopus to his underwater cave and much, much more! An excellent and interactive introduction to all types of sea creatures for the very young.
NT_NatureStickerBook_SharksSeahorses_FrontCover_HRFind out more

Indigo Island, the third and final instalment in Susan Moore‘s action-packed adventure-driven Nat Walker trilogy is publishing next month! Nat has faithfully followed the clues her father has left her from beyond the grave, and she is closing in on the prize. Soon, all will become clear and her future path determined. But it will be a dangerous one, and not for the faint hearted… This is a thrilling story, full of action and adventure.

Look inside:

Find out more

Finally, we’re delighted to publish Ella on the Outside, a gripping debut written by Cath Howe. With hugely relatable relationships and an incredibly authentic voice, it’s ideal for fans of Jacqueline Wilson and Cathy Cassidy. Ella is the new girl at school. She doesn’t know anyone and she doesn’t have any friends. And she has a terrible secret. Ella can’t believe her luck when Lydia, the most popular girl in school, decides to be her new best friend – but what does Lydia really want? And what does it have to do with Molly, the quiet, shy girl who won’t talk to anyone? A gripping story of secrets, lies, and friendship, from an exciting new voice.

Read the first few chapters here:

Find out more

Don’t forget – you can stay up to date with all of our book news by signing up to our books newsletter at this page, or with the form below – you’ll never miss a thing!

Newsletter

Fill in your details to never miss a thing!
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
Back

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Back to top