It’s World Book Day and our March Books have arrived!

March Books 2018

Happy World Book Day! From today, you’ll be able to use your £1 World Book Day book token to grab a special, World Book Day story from Pamela Butchart and Thomas Flintham, a brand new and TOTALLY hilarious Izzy adventure: The Baby Brother From Outer Space!

When Haroon’s mum brings his baby brother into school, Izzy and her friends are ALARMED! The baby is clearly using mind control because the office ladies start squeaking and saying made-up words. He writes strange messages with his blocks and he REALLY LIKES SCHOOL DINNERS! But it’s when he’s caught speaking in an alien language on his ‘phone’ that they know. Haroon’s baby brother is from outer space and he’s trying to BEAM THEM ALL UP!!!

WBD The Baby Brother From Outer Space

Find out more

It’s the first day of March, there’s lots of snow on the ground, and we’re all a-flurry to share our new March books with you! From novelty and activity books with fun interactive design, to picture books, chapter books and middle grade fiction, there’s something for everyone!

We’re so excited to publish two new titles in the award-winning Felt Flaps series today, illustrated by Ingela P. ArrheniusWhere’s Mrs Zebra? and Where’s Mr Dog? are wonderful, vibrant additions to the Felt Flaps family – five beautifully illustrated spreads show a series of friendly animals hiding behind bright felt flaps, and there’s a mirror on the final page! These are perfect books to share with very little ones. If you, like us, LOVE Ingela’s style, watch her interview with Kate Wilson, and get a sneak peek at an extra special book that’s due out in October, too!

Where's Mrs Zebra Where's Mr Dog?

A Bear is a Bear (except when he’s not) is in shops NOW! Written by Karl Newson, and with warm, humorous illustrations from fresh talent Anuska Allepuz, this is a funny, rhyming romp about an adorably baffled bear. When one sleepy bear wakes up early from his winter sleep, he’s confused. Is he a bird? Or a moose? A fox, perhaps? Or even a squirrel? No! He’s definitely a bear, and it’s time this bear went back to sleep…

Take a look inside:

Find out more

We’re incredibly proud to publish HerStory today – this beautiful work of non-fiction is all about educating and empowering, and features 50 women and girls who shook the world in their own unique ways. Superbly illustrated by Sarah Walsh and with words by Katherine Halligan, this collection is compelling, motivating and visually arresting in equal measure, and the perfect introduction to some of the amazing women who have shaped our world. The book features inspiring words from these women, the stories of their childhood, the challenges they faced and the changes they made in the world.

Here’s a sample of what’s inside:

Find out more

Happy book birthday to not one, but FOUR new books in collaboration with the National Trust!

There’s Look and Say What You See In the Town, the latest book in the Look and Say series, illustrated by Sebastien Braun. From fruit and vegetables at the market to flowers and birds in the snowy garden, this look-and-say book for little ones is a great way to start learning about nature around the town. The spot-and-find aspect is perfect for the youngest of readers to become absorbed in the fascinating nature details. What can you see down by the canal? Can you find the fox in the street at night-time? There’s so much to recognise in each landscape in this beautiful interactive book for the very young.

Take a look:

Find out more

We’ve published two books in a new Who’s Hiding Here? series with the National Trust, illustrated by Katherine McEwenWho’s Hiding On The River? and Who’s Hiding On The Farm? are beautiful lift-the-flap books full of facts about nature… and full of fun too! Little ones can pore over the beautiful collaged pages and explore different habitats to find out lots of interesting facts about nature. This is the perfect introduction to the outdoors. With other 20 flaps in each book, all hiding an animal and a fun animal fact, there’s plenty to discover!

National Trust: Who's Hiding on the River? National Trust: Who's Hiding On the Farm?

Nature Origami is out now – a stunning gift book where you can learn to make your very own origami creatures! Featuring enticing nature artwork from Clover Robin, alongside simple instructions to make 13 different origami animals and objects, plus an extract from a nature poem to compliment every creature. This book suits complete beginners as well as more experienced origami folders, with three difficulty levels. And there’s a handy QR code which will take you to a series of instructive how-to videos for each animal. You can watch the Duck one here!

Nature Origami

Find out more

And there’s some fantastic new fiction out now, too!

We’re very pleased to publish Zoe’s Rescue Zoo: The Curious Kangaroo today – the latest instalment in the Zoe’s Rescue Zoo series, just right for new readers who are growing in confidence. Written by Amelia Cobb and illustrated by Sophy Williams, this book is filled with the cuddliest, cutest baby animals and is sure to delight you animal lovers everywhere – it’s perfect for fans of Holly Webb and Dick King Smith. Zoe loves living at her uncle’s rescue zoo, because there’s always something exciting going on. And Zoe also has an amazing secret… She can actually TALK to the animals!

Here’s a look inside:

Find out more

Max the Detective Cat: The Disappearing Diva is out NOW – the first book  in a new middle-grade mystery series, written by Sarah Todd Taylor and illustrated by Nicola Kinnear, with plenty of fun, drama and a vintage crime feel, too! Max, chief mouse-hunter at the Theatre Royal, is up to his whiskers in his first mystery. Max is a pampered cat, used to the finer things in life, until a fun mouse chase goes badly wrong and he finds himself scruffy and alone and hiding out at the Theatre Royal. It’s here that Max takes on his first case as a detective cat, and soon Max is trapped in a complicated web of crime, dashing over the rooftops of London in a race to catch a clever thief…

Here’s a look inside the book:

Find out more

And finally, from the author of Little Bits of Sky, S. E. Durrant, comes a beautifully told story of unorthodox families, grief, adolescence and running: Running On Empty. AJ’s grandfather has always been one to keep his unusual family together, so when he dies things start to unravel at the edges. Compelling and beautiful writing about family, loss, dreams and small pleasures, Running On Empty packs a real emotional punch.

Here’s a look inside:

Happy publication day and huge congratulations to all our wonderful authors and illustrators – and happy World Book Day!


Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Back to top