Back

It’s our October publication day!

October Books Cover

It’s our October publication day, and we’ve got an amazing collection of new books hitting the shelves this month – with wonderful new novelty, picture books, illustrated fiction and middle grade in shops, there’s something for everyone. Here’s what you can find from Nosy Crow in October.

A Tiny Little Story: Christmas, by Lisa Jones and Edward Underwood, is out today – the latest title in the wonderful Tiny Little Story series of cloth books. With a buggy handle, crinkle pages designed for the smallest of hands, bold images, and the simplest of stories, this is the perfect book to share with a baby – a wonderful Christmas gift idea!

Christmas_BOX LID.indd

Find out more

Pip and Posy are back, just in time for the holiday season! The latest in Axel Scheffler’s hit series, Pip and Posy: The Christmas Tree, is out now, with another wonderful adventure from your favourite rabbit and mouse. It’s Christmas time, and Pip and Posy are busy decorating the tree with candy sticks, and biscuits, and a beautiful sugar star. But the strange thing is that every time Posy goes out of the room, when she returns, there’s one less decoration on the tree. Eventually, there are NO decorations left AT ALL… oh, dear! Soon, Pip starts to feel very ill indeed. Can you guess why?

Take a look inside the book:

Find out more

And for those Pip and Posy super-fans, a great value gift package is also hitting the shelves today, with a book and blocks set! Axel Scheffler’s The Big Balloon is now released as a small board book, along with nine jigsaw building blocks featuring Axel’s beloved artwork all presented in a chunky card box with a handle. This is an extra special gift for little ones!

PipandPosy_BooksandBlocks_RGBWEB

Find out more

We also have a brand new Felt Flaps book out now – Where’s Mr Unicorn! Each Felt Flaps book has five beautifully illustrated spreads showing a series of friendly animals hiding behind bright felt flaps – and there’s a mirror on the final page! Illustrated by Ingela P Arrhenius, these are perfect books for little hands to explore.

Watch the trailer:

Find out more

We’ve published a brand new cased board book edition of I See The Moon, illustrated by Rosalind Beardshaw, today. A starry, beautifully illustrated collection of favourite lullabies, rhymes and poems, perfect for sharing at bedtime, with a sprinkling of silver foil on every page, this book will make a wonderful Christmas gift. Here’s a look inside the book:

Find out more

And we’ve also reissued The Winter Fox, written by Timothy Knapman and illustrated by Rebecca Harry, in a beautiful new cased board book format! Fox loves to play, but his friends are worried about him. It’s nearly winter, and it’s time he started getting ready! Each animal knows just what Fox should do, if only he would listen to them… When winter finally comes, Fox finds himself cold, hungry and all alone. Can a Christmas wish help him set things right? With eye-catching foil on every spread, this heart-warming winter tale of friendship and generosity is the perfect Christmas gift. Here’s a look inside the book:

Find out more

We’ve reissued three much-loved Bizzy Bear books by Benji Davies, now in white board, with super-smooth slider mechanisms, perfect for little hands! The colours are brighter, but the rhymes are the same! In October, we have reissued Bizzy Bear: Christmas HelperBizzy Bear: Pirate Adventure and Bizzy Bear: Dinosaur Safari. Rich in visual detail and with five chunky sliders to push and pull in each book, Bizzy Bear’s adventures encourage preschoolers to get involved in the storytelling.

BizzyBear_ChristHelp_Rebrand_Cvr_LR_WEB

Find out more

BizzyBear_DinosaurSafari_LR_WEb
Find out more

BizzyBear_PirateAdventure_Cvr_LR_WEB

Find out more

We have two new books in our hugely popular Listen to the… sound book series, illustrated by Marion Billet, out today – Listen to the Dance Music and Listen to the Nutcracker ! Aimed at the very young, each book has a button on every spread, triggering one of six different samples of beautiful music to dance along to.

ListenTo_Nutcracker_FrontCover_WEB

Find out more

ListenToo - Dance Music - RGB WEB

Find out more

Alphabet Street, written by Jonathan Emmett and illustrated by Ingela P Arrhenius, is out now – a delightful gift package which works as a lift-the-flap concertina book and a wall frieze AND a play scene! Open each page to see the shop fronts, then lift the flaps to peek inside the shop and the rooms above. Who’s buying a new suit? And who has splashed himself with a hose? You’ll have to read it to find out!

Watch the trailer:

Find out more

Sammy Claws: The Christmas Cat is out today – full of festive fun, this lively rhyming picture book, written by Lucy Rowland, is brought to life by Paula Bowles’ fresh, contemporary illustrations. Sammy Claws, Santa’s cuddly pet cat, will sleep anywhere and as he sleeps he dreams… Sammy longs to fly with Santa on his sleigh, but when he accidentally causes mayhem in the workshop, it looks like he has lost his chance. That is until, snoozing in a box, Sammy finds himself wrapped up as a Christmas parcel and bundled onto the sleigh with the other presents. How will Sammy escape? And how will he save the presents from two rotten robbers with plans to steal them all away?

Take a look inside the book:

Find out more

And this month we’re delighted to publish a new edition of Jan Fearnley’s much-loved festive picture book, Little Robin Red Vest – re-illustrated for a special 20th anniversary edition. One frosty evening, a week before Christmas, Little Robin washes and irons seven warm vests for the chilly nights to come. But, as the days go by, he meets many friends who are shivering in the cold, and kindly offers them his vests to wear. By the time Christmas Eve arrives, however, there are no vests left and Little Robin finds himself all alone and cold! That is, until a special someone arrives to reward his kindness… Here’s a look inside the book:

Find out more

Take an inspirational month-by-month journey through the seasons with our 2019 Nature Month-By-Month: A Children’s Almanac, publishing today in partnership with the National Trust. Beautifully illustrated by Elly Jahnz and written by nature-lover and wild swimmer Anna Wilson, this fantastic, fully illustrated guide to the year includes nature spotter guides, indoor and outdoor craft and activity ideas, seasonal recipes and celebrations of religious festivals and special days such as the 50th anniversary of the first moon landing. This gorgeous almanac will encourage young readers to connect with nature and the world around them.Here’s a look inside the book:

Find out more

There’s a new Make and Play book by Joey Chou out now – Make and Play: Christmas. Make your own 3D festive decorations with this innovative activity board book with fantastic play value. With over 20 unique and colourful designs, the press-out pieces can be simply slotted together to create bright and cheerful decorations. Each book also includes ten additional pages of festive activities, including songs, recipes and craft ideas.

MakeAndPlay_Christmas_Cvr_web

Find out more

We’re thrilled to be launching a brand new young fiction series this month – Snow Sisters, a beautifully illustrated, sparkly fantasy fiction series for 7+ readers, full of magic, adventure and cute animals. Written by Astrid Foss and illustrated by Sharon Tancredi, the series begins with The Silver Secret. The evil Shadow Witch wants to steal the Everchanging Lights right out of the sky – and the Snow Sisters will need all their magic to stop her turning their home, the beautiful, icy island of Nordovia, dark forever…

Take a look inside the book:

Find out more

The sixth book in the Unicorn Academy series is in shops now – Olivia and Snowflake! Written by Julie Sykes and illustrated by Lucy Truman, this series is magical, action-packed and perfect for young readers. Imagine a school where you meet your own unicorn and go on adventures with them! That’s what happens for the girls at Unicorn Academy on the enchanted Unicorn Island. With a different girl and her unicorn in each story, this unique, hugely collectible magical school series is perfect for newly-independent readers.

Take a look inside the book:

Find out more

A Pony Called Secret: A Dream Come True is in shops now – the fourth book in the action-packed A Pony Called Secret series, by the much-loved author of the Palomino Pony series, Olivia Tuffin. Alice can hardly believe that she and Secret have been invited to compete for a chance to show jump at the famous Olympia Christmas Horse Show! Will Alice find a way to lead naughty, talented, amazing Secret as far as she dreams they can go?

Look inside the book:

Find out more

Our Zoe’s Rescue Zoo series is back this month with The Little Llama! Written by Amelia Cobb and illustrated by Sophy Williams, this fantastic series, perfect for fans of Holly Webb, is filled with the cuddliest, cutest baby animals that will delight young animal lovers everywhere! Zoe loves living at her uncle’s rescue zoo because there’s always something exciting going on. And Zoe also has an amazing secret… She can actually TALK to the animals!

Here’s a look inside the book:

Find out more

Also out this month is a gripping new thriller by Fleur Hitchcock, Murder At Twilight. When Viv has a fight with Noah, she doesn’t think it’ll be the last time she sees him. But when she gets back from school, he’s nowhere to be found and there are police cars everywhere, lights flashing and sirens blaring. Viv is sure Noah’s run away to get attention. But it’s really cold, and getting dark, and the rain just won’t stop falling. So she sets off to look for him, furious at his selfishness, as the floodwaters rise. And then she finds him, and realises that a much more dangerous story is unfolding around them…

Take a look inside the book:

Find out more

And finally, the latest book in the Baby Aliens series, from Blue Peters Award winners Pamela Butchart and Thomas Flintham, is here – There’s a Yeti in the Playground is out now! Izzy and her friends are SCARED! They’re snowed in at school and there’s something HAIRY outside. But it’s when they see the REALLY BIG FOOTPRINT that they know. There’s a YETI in the playground and it’s going to get them!

Look inside the book:

Find out more

Don’t forget – you can stay up to date with all of our book news by signing up to our books newsletter at this page, or with the form below – you’ll never miss a thing!

Newsletter

Fill in your details to never miss a thing!
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
Back

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Back to top