Back

Shifty and Sam on Bookaboo!

ShiftyMcGifty_8-9.jpg-5495.jpg

We’ve got some great news for fans of Shifty McGifty and Slippery Sam, the fantastic picture book by Tracey Corderoy and Steven LentonCITV’s Bookaboo programme is returning, and will feature the book over their Christmas broadcasts!

You’ll be able to watch Simon Gregson (aka Steve McDonald off of Coronation Street) read this BRILLIANT rhyming story on Boxing Day at 6.55am on ITV and CITV, and on Saturday 28th December at 7.25am on ITV and CITV.

Here’s a full list of Bookaboo titles that’ll be broadcast over the holiday.

If you haven’t come across Shifty McGifty and Slippery Sam before, the book tells the story of two hapless robber dogs who decide on a career-change after one bungled burglary too many. With a funny, quirky story, a rhyme that simply trips off the tongue, and wonderful illustrations that are full of depth of detail and colour, this is a real treat – especially for dog-lovers everywhere.

And that’s not the only good news for Shifty and Sam today! The book has been featured in The Telegraph’s list of the best books of the year for young children. Helen Brown writes:

“It’s the kind of book that I might not have picked up had I not been nudged its way – but Corderoy’s rich, rhyming text is a pleasure to read aloud and the ending got a big laugh in my house.”

Here’s a look inside the book:

Here’s Steven’s fab animated trailer:

And you can download some Shifty and Sam colouring-in sheets here.

The paperback edition of Shifty McGifty and Slippery Sam (which comes with a free Stories Aloud audio reading) is available to order online here.

We hope you enjoy the book – don’t forget to tune in to Bookaboo on Boxing Day!

Back

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Back to top