Skip to content
Posted by Nosy Crow, July 18, 2017

Sweet Pizza biographies

Today’s guest blog post is by Elspeth Ewing, a school librarian at Woolmer Hill School. Elspeth contacted us about a fantastically imaginative competition the school have run around Sweet Pizza by G. R. Gemin, and has kindly written all about it for us.

This week is activities week here at Woolmer Hill and we have been running a competition for our Year 8 pupils to win copies of Sweet Pizza – they had to make pizza box biographies! For the competition students had to interview a family member or friend and then use the answers to create a ‘pizza’ with each slice being the answer to one of their questions. Pizza boxes were donated by Dominoes Pizza in Haslemere and the finished pizzas were put in the boxes which were then decorated with portraits of the subject. Year 8 have done a brilliant job with some wonderful creations.

Thank you, Elspeth! You can see some of the entries below – and the wining pizzas are at the top of this post.

IMG_3265

A great story that has immigration at its core, Sweet Pizza is perfect for fans of Jacqueline Wilson and Michael Morpurgo – it’s got fantastic dramatic writing, strong characters, and big-hearted social realism. Here’s a look inside the book:


Buy the book online.