Skip to content

Tag: always clementine

Nosy Crow acquires two new heart-warming titles from highly-acclaimed author Carlie Sorosiak

Nosy Crow is delighted to announce the acquisition of two heart-warming and uplifting middle-grade novels from the much-loved author of I, Cosmo and My Life as a Cat, Carlie Sorosiak.

Always, Clementine will publish in September 2022. The second novel – the title of which is yet to be confirmed – will publish the following year in September 2023.

Carlie Sorosiak’s first middle-grade novel with Nosy Crow, I, Cosmo was selected as Waterstone Children’s Book of the Month in September 2019.

Tom Bonnick, Senior Commissioning Editor at Nosy Crow, bought world rights to two middle grade titles from Claire Wilson at RCW, with US rights for both books sold by Nosy Crow to Susan Van Metre at Walker US.

Always, Clementine is a funny, wise and heart-warming story, with a truly one-of-a-kind hero. It’s a beautifully written tale with a unique voice, perfect for fans of Stuart Little, Charlotte’s Web, and The Queen’s Gambit.

Clementine is a genius. She can calculate pi to 69,689 places, remembers the exact moment she was born, and dreams in Latin. She’s also a mouse. And when she escapes from the lab which has bred her, Clementine discovers that it’s not enough to be the smartest mouse in history if she wants to survive in the real world – especially while the scientists who kept her are trying to recover their prize specimen. So, together with her new human friends, Clementine must find a way to earn her freedom – for good.

Author Carlie Sorosiak comments: “With Always, Clementine, I wanted to write a story that very much positioned a lab animal within the heart of her own narrative. I wanted to give Clementine agency, which is something that lab animals so sorely lack. It’s an optimistic story, and if it makes even the smallest difference in the lives of lab animals, it will be the best thing I’ve ever done with my time. Nosy Crow have been incredibly supportive in every conceivable way, and I’m delighted to publish with them again this year.”

Tom Bonnick, Senior Commissioning Editor at Nosy Crow, comments: “I’m delighted to be working with Carlie on two new novels – there is just no-one writing stories like her, and Always, Clementine is her best book yet. It’s unbelievably funny, incredibly wise, and filled with heart – Stuart Little for a new generation. I can’t wait for fans of I, Cosmo and My Life as a Cat, and new readers alike, to meet Clementine.”

Claire Wilson comments: “Carlie’s uniquely generous, joyful, witty and warm-hearted novels are rightly held close by their devoted readers, and I am so glad to know that these exceptional stories of dauntless, endlessly characterful animals – and their accompanying children – will be continuing to grow in number with the Nosy Crow team.”

Susan Van Metre at Walker US comments: “We fall in love with each of Carlie’s observant, empathetic animal narrators. They are ideal friends, helping their chosen children navigate worlds made more complicated and fraught by the adults around them, and thus also perfect companions for any middle grade reader.  We’re so pleased to welcome Clementine to their company and to have two more books with Carlie and the team at Nosy Crow.”

Carlie Sorosiak grew up in North Carolina. She has a Masters in English from Oxford University and another in publishing from City, University of London. She is the author of two middle grade novels published by Nosy Crow; I, Cosmo and My Life as a Cat. She lives in Atlanta, Georgia, with her husband and her American dingo.