Skip to content

Tag: Blackwell’s Children’s Book of the Month

Adam-2 is Blackwell’s Children’s Book of the Month

Blackwell’s Booksellers have announced their Children’s Book of the Month for August – and we’re absolutely delighted that Adam-2, the thrilling new science fiction adventure from Alastair Chisholm, has been chosen!

From the highly-acclaimed author of Orion Lost, Adam-2 is an action-packed, brilliantly imagined thriller that will have you on the edge of your seat – perfect for fans of Eoin Colfer, Anthony Horowitz and Philip Reeve.

The robot Adam-2 has been locked in the basement of a lost building for over two hundred years – until one day he is discovered by two children, and emerges into a world ruined by a civil war between humans and advanced intelligence.

Hunted by both sides, Adam discovers that he holds the key to the war, and the power to end it – to destroy one side and save the other. But which side is right?

Surrounded by enemies who want to use him, and allies who mistrust him, Adam must decide who – and what – he really is.

Read the first few chapters below:

You can order a copy of Adam-2 from Blackwell’s here.

Don’t forget to sign up for our newsletter here to be the first to know about our latest news, including exclusive previews, discounts and giveaways.

The Life and Time of Lonny Quicke is Blackwell’s Children’s Book of the Month

Blackwell’s Booksellers have announced their Children’s Book of the Month for May – and we’re absolutely delighted that The Life and Time of Lonny Quicke, by Kirsty Applebaum, has been chosen!

From the highly-acclaimed author of The Middler and TrooFriend, The Life and Time of Lonny Quicke is a gripping new novel of secrets and terrible power – perfect for fans of Malorie Blackman, Meg Rosoff, and Frances Hardinge.

Lonny is a lifeling. He has the power to heal any living creature and bring it back from the dead. But he pays a price for this gift – by lengthening the creature’s life, he shortens his own. So Lonny has to be careful, has to stay hidden in the forest. Because if people knew what he could do, Lonny would be left with no life at all…

Read the first few chapters:

You can order a copy of The Life and Time of Lonny Quicke from Blackwell’s here.

Don’t forget to sign up to our books newsletter here to be the first to know about our latest news, including exclusive previews, discounts and giveaways.