Skip to content

Tag: How to Be Me

How to be Me is now available as an audiobook

Today we’re delighted to share a brand new audiobook edition of How to be Me by Cath Howe – a beautiful, moving story of family, friendship and self-discovery, from the author of the high-acclaimed novels Ella on the Outside and Not My Fault.

Since his mum died, Lucas and his dad don’t seem to understand each other at all – it’s almost as if they’re speaking different languages. With a long, hot summer facing him, Lucas is dreading the drama club that his dad has signed him up for – he doesn’t know how to be around new people and he can’t standperforming. But the people Lucas meets at the club force him to open up and start talking, and when disaster strikes, Lucas is forced to step in and help. Can his new-found friends teach Lucas how to be himself?

You can buy the audiobook of How to be Me from Audible, Amazon, and Apple now – and you can listen to a preview of the audiobook below.

Filled with empathy and insight, and sensitively touching on issues including grief, anxiety, loneliness with great understanding and an incredible lightness of touch, How to be Me is a kind, heartwarming, and uplifting story – perfect for fans of Jacqueline Wilson and Lisa Thompson.

You can also read the opening of the book below:

And you can buy the print edition of How to be Me from Waterstones here, from Bookshop.org here, and from Amazon here.

New books out in April!

It’s our April publication day! From a Bizzy Bear first words book and egg hunt adventures to the first in a loveable new picture book series by David Melling, an inspiring story about looking after our coastlines and a bunch of fantastic new fiction to keep them entertained, we’ve got something for everyone this month.

Here’s a closer look at the new Nosy Crow books you can find in bookshops, and available online, now.

Bizzy Bear’s Big Book of Words, by Benji Davies:

Buy the book.

Sing Along With Me! Hey Diddle Diddle, by Yu-hsuan Huang:

Buy the book.

I’m Thinking of a Pet, by Adam GuillainCharlotte Guillain & Lucia Gaggiotti:

Buy the book.

The Body Book, by Hannah Alice

Buy the book.

This is NOT a Unicorn, by Barry Timms and Ged Adamson:

Buy the book.

Ruffles and the Red, Red Coat, by David Melling:

Buy the book.

National Trust: Out and About Minibeast Explorer, by Robyn Swift & Hannah Alice:

Buy the book.

British Museum: Find Tom in Time, Ancient Rome, by Fatti Burke (now available in paperback):

Buy the book.

How to Be Me, by Cath Howe:

Buy the book.

Waiting for Murder, by Fleur Hitchcock:

Buy the book.

Sunshine Stables: Poppy and the Perfect Pony, by Olivia Tuffin & Jo Goodberry:

Buy the book.

A Forever Home for Fluffy, by Linda Chapman & Sophy Williams

Buy the book.

Earth Friends: Fair Fashion, by Holly Webb:

Buy the book.

Congratulations to all of the authors and illustrators with books out today!

If you’d like to stay up-to-date with all of our books news, you can sign up to our newsletter here or using the form at the bottom of this page.

Take a look inside How to Be Me

This April we’re thrilled to be publishing How to Be Me – a moving story about family, friendship and self-discovery, from Cath Howe, the author of the highly acclaimed Ella On the Outside.

And today we’re sharing an exclusive first look inside the book!

Lucas is all alone.

Since his mum died, Lucas and his dad don’t seem to understand each other at all. And Lucas is dreading the summer drama club that his dad has signed him up for. But the people Lucas meets at the club force him to open up and start talking. Can his new-found friends teach Lucas how to be himself?

Read the first few chapters below:

How to Be Me will be in bookshops and online on April 1st – you can pre-order a copy from Waterstones here, Bookshop.org here, or Amazon here.

If you’d like to stay up-to-date with all of our book news, including early previews, award news, giveaways and more, you can sign up here.