Skip to content

Tag: Running Out of Time

Nosy Crow looks into the future with hugely exciting middle grade acquisitions from debut author Simon Fox

Nosy Crow is delighted to announce the acquisition and publication of two unputdownable middle grade adventures from début author, Simon Fox. Running Out of Time, the first, is set to publish in August 2022 and will be followed by the second in 2023.

Tom Bonnick, Senior Commissioning Editor at Nosy Crow, bought world rights to two middle grade titles from Eve White at the Eve White Literary Agency.

Perfect for fans of Inception and Artemis Fowl, Running Out of Time is a thrilling time-twisting debut, stuffed full of extraordinary twists and incredible action, from an exciting new voice in children’s fiction.

The future of the universe is written.

Vasily can steal time – the most he can take at the moment is fifteen seconds, which is not a lot. His grandmother took almost three minutes once, and she told him she’s done more, but he never saw it. She says there are stories of someone who can take all the time in the world, but how can that be right?

Newly arrived in England, Vasily must use his extraordinary gift to find his father – whilst hiding from the police, criminal gangs, people smugglers, and corrupt government forces that are chasing him.

Author Simon Fox comments: “It’s been so exciting working with Tom and Nosy Crow to get this project moving. It means a huge amount to me and I really hope it’s the start of a long relationship. Unlike the character in my story, I can’t see the future, but I can’t imagine a better team to face the unknown with!”

Tom Bonnick, Senior Commissioning Editor at Nosy Crow, comments: “Running Out of Time is one of the most extraordinary and ambitious debut novels that I’ve ever read: an ingenious concept, unbelievably gripping, fast-paced writing, and some truly fantastic twists. Simon is an incredible new talent, and I can’t wait to see this book in the hands of readers!”

Eve White, Simon’s agent, comments: “I’m so excited about the Simon Fox/Tom Bonnick team and couldn’t be happier that Nosy Crow is going to be taking Running Out of Time to middle grade readers around the world.”

Simon Fox lives in Sussex with his wife and two teenage children. Running Out of Time is his first novel after twenty years trapped in the dungeon of accountancy. He is determined to never go back.