Skip to content

Tag: The Life and Time of Lonny Quicke

Three Nosy Crow books nominated for the 2022 CILIP Carnegie & Kate Greenaway Medals

The nominations lists for the 2022 CILIP Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Medals have been published today – and we’re absolutely thrilled that three Nosy Crow books have been nominated this year!

The CILIP Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Medals are the UK’s oldest and best-loved children’s book awards, recognising outstanding reading experiences created through writing and illustrations in books for children and young people. The CILIP Carnegie Medal is awarded to outstanding writing, and the CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal is awarded to outstanding illustration.

Judged solely by librarians, some of the past winners include Arthur Ransome, C.S. Lewis, Terry Pratchett, Philip Pullman, Sally Gardner, Raymond Briggs, Shirley Hughes, Quentin Blake, Chris Riddell and many more.

The Life and Time of Lonny Quicke by Kirsty Applebaum has been nominated by the CILIP Carnegie Medal; Out of Nowhere, illustrated by Chris Naylor-Ballesteros, and Tiger, Tiger, Burning Bright, illustrated by Britta Teckentrup, have been nominated for the CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal. You can take a look inside each of the books below.

The Life and Time of Lonny Quicke:

Out of Nowhere:

Tiger, Tiger, Burning Bright:

You can find out more about the awards here. The longlists will be published in February, followed by the shortlists in March, with the winners announced at a ceremony in June next year.

Congratulations to our nominated authors and illustrators – Kirsty, Chris, and Britta!

Early praise for The Life and Time of Lonny Quicke

This month we published The Life and Time of Lonny Quicke – a brilliant new novel about family, secrets and terrible power, from the highly-acclaimed author of TrooFriend and The Middler, Kirsty Applebaum.

And today we’re very pleased to share these outstanding early reviews!

Lonny is a lifeling. He has the power to heal any living creature and bring it back from the dead. But he pays a price for this gift – by lengthening the creature’s life, he shortens his own. So Lonny has to be careful, has to stay hidden in the forest. Because if people knew what he could do, Lonny would be left with no life at all…

A gripping, atmospheric and heartfelt new story for readers aged 9-12, The Life and Time of Lonny Quicke is perfect for fans of Malorie Blackman, Meg Rosoff, and Frances Hardinge.

“A modern-day fairytale with a unique voice and fantastic folkloric premise.” – Peter Bunzl, author of Cogheart

“I declare it, it’s a masterpiece!…Genius idea, beautifully, wonderfully told. I couldn’t have enjoyed it any more.” –Nicola Penfold, author of Where the World Turns Wild

“Tense and twisty, The Life and Time of Lonny Quicke is masterfully written. A page-turner with a unique and intriguing premise… This is going on my ‘keep forever’ shelves.” – Julie Pike, author of The Last Spell Breather

Read the first few chapters below:

The Life and Time of Lonny Quicke is out now – you can order a copy form Waterstones here, Amazon here, or from the Nosy Crow website here.

Don’t forget to sign up to our newsletter here to be the first to know about our new books, early previews, giveaways and much more.

The Life and Time of Lonny Quicke is now available as an audiobook

Today we’re delighted to share a brand new audiobook edition of The Life and Time of Lonny Quicke – the brilliant new novel from Kirsty Applebaum, author of The Middler, about family, secrets and a terrible power.

And today you can listen to a preview of the new audiobook edition, beautifully read by David Dawson.

Lonny is a lifeling. He has the power to heal any living creature and bring it back from the dead. But he pays a price for this gift – by lengthening the creature’s life, he shortens his own. So Lonny has to be careful, has to stay hidden in the forest. Because if people knew what he could do, Lonny would be left with no life at all…

You can buy the audiobook of The Life and Time of Lonny Quicke from Audible, Amazon, and Apple now – and you can listen to a preview of the audiobook below:

Buy the audiobook.

And you can also read the opening of the book below:

You can buy the print edition of The Life and Time of Lonny Quicke from Blackwells (where the book is currently Children’s Book of the Month) here, from Waterstones here, and from Amazon here.

How Lonny Quicke came to be – A guest post by Kirsty Applebaum

This month we’re delighted to have published The Life and Time of Lonny Quicke – a gripping new novel of secrets, family and terrible power, from the acclaimed author of The Middler and TrooFriend, Kirsty Applebaum.

And today we’re very pleased to share a guest post by Kirsty on where this new story came from, which you can read below.

The Life and Time of Lonny Quicke tells the story of a boy faced with an incredibly difficult situation. There are no simple answers, no straightforward solutions. He just has to keep moving forward, taking the decisions that seem best to him at the time.

The story began as an entry for a competition back in 2014, to write the opening of a children’s book. I had recently read Blake Snyder’s screenwriting guide Save the Cat, which recommends having a scene early on in your story showing the protagonist performing an act of kindness, to get the audience on-side. I decided to try it. Instead of saving a cat though, my protagonist saved a dying rabbit – with just a touch of his hand.

I’m happy to say my entry won first prize, but at that point, I had no idea whether it could grow into a full-length story. I let it sit in the back of my mind for three years while I completed my MA and wrote my first children’s novel, The Middler.

When The Middler was complete, I returned to my magical, rabbit-saving boy. And it turned out my mind had performed that astounding trick the subconscious can sometimes do, given the seed of a creative idea and a little bit of time: it had woven a network of themes, images and concepts that might just possibly come together to create a story.

It was clear, for example, that life was a central theme. This led me to investigate May festivals – celebrations of life’s renewal in springtime – and to consider imagining a whole new festival of my own.

The magical, folkish feel of the original scene had cemented itself in my mind. It connected with memories of much-loved fairy tales from my childhood and enchanting real-life locations, including my own home town of Winchester with its rich history and ancient gated walls.

Winchester

The mixture of fantasy and contemporary life in the original scene triggered memories of the Cottingley fairy photographs – beautiful, faked pictures created by two Victorian girls, depicting themselves with fairies in their garden.

As a young teenager, I’d not only loved the pictures, I’d also been gripped by the idea that some people had really believed in them – which led me to wonder what it might be like to really have a magical, fairy-tale power? Would it be a gift or a curse?

My rabbit-saving boy idea also fused itself to something else in my mind – my desire to write a book involving stories within stories. Some of my favourite novels have used this technique – including Holes by Louis Sachar and my favourite childhood book, The Wonderful Story of Henry Sugar by Roald Dahl.

I wanted to do this myself – embed shorter stories in a longer text, creating connections and anticipation in the reader’s mind as they progress through the novel.

I also wanted to write a book in which the circumstances were the true cause of the protagonist’s problems, rather than evil or wicked adversary. I felt strongly that this might be the right story for that concept. Yes, I wanted to put all of these things into my new book – no problem, right?

In the meantime, the brilliant Nosy Crow had bought The Middler as part of a two-book deal and they wanted my unwritten book about the rabbit-saving boy for my second novel. Hurrah! I set to work.

I researched. I wrote. I decided it was all rubbish and started again.
I researched. I wrote. I decided it was all rubbish and started again.
I researched. I wrote. I decided it was all rubbish and started again.
It became clear that I’d got myself into an incredibly difficult situation.
My publisher had bought the book.
But the book was completely unwritable.
Arrrrrrgh.
ARRRRRRRRRRRRGH.

I became a total expert at occupying myself with absolutely anything other than the story I was supposed to be writing. Peak displacement activity was reached when I wrote a whole different book instead: TrooFriend. It was about a robot. Not a rabbit-saving boy insight.

Happily, Nosy Crow loved TrooFriend. They decided to publish it as my second novel and gave me an extra year in which to complete The Life and Time of Lonny Quicke. So I got back to work. There was nowhere to run this time. Like Lonny, I just had to keep moving forward. There were no simple answers; no straightforward solutions. The story could go in a thousand different directions – I just had to find a way that worked for me.

And – eventually – I did manage to grow a story from that original scene. I built a world inspired by spring festivals, fairy tales and the ancient walled city I grew up in. I created my own folk stories and embedded them into the book. I put Lonny into a horrendous situation, instead of confronting him with an evil adversary. Finally, I’d found my way through.

And this, at its heart, is what The Life and Time of Lonny Quicke is all about. Sometimes life throws us problems that have no single, straightforward solution. We just have to find a path through that works for us. That’s what I did while writing this book, and that’s what Lonny does too. Faced with an incredibly difficult situation, he just keeps moving forward, taking the decisions that seem best to him at the time. And – eventually – he finds his way through.

Thank you, Kirsty!

The Life and Time of Lonny Quicke, currently Blackwell’s Children’s Book of the Month, is available now – you can order a copy from Blackwell’s here, Waterstones here, or Amazon here.

Read the first few chapters below:

The Life and Time of Lonny Quicke is Blackwell’s Children’s Book of the Month

Blackwell’s Booksellers have announced their Children’s Book of the Month for May – and we’re absolutely delighted that The Life and Time of Lonny Quicke, by Kirsty Applebaum, has been chosen!

From the highly-acclaimed author of The Middler and TrooFriend, The Life and Time of Lonny Quicke is a gripping new novel of secrets and terrible power – perfect for fans of Malorie Blackman, Meg Rosoff, and Frances Hardinge.

Lonny is a lifeling. He has the power to heal any living creature and bring it back from the dead. But he pays a price for this gift – by lengthening the creature’s life, he shortens his own. So Lonny has to be careful, has to stay hidden in the forest. Because if people knew what he could do, Lonny would be left with no life at all…

Read the first few chapters:

You can order a copy of The Life and Time of Lonny Quicke from Blackwell’s here.

Don’t forget to sign up to our books newsletter here to be the first to know about our latest news, including exclusive previews, discounts and giveaways.