Skip to content
Posted on March 26, 2021

Take a look inside The Life and Time of Lonny Quicke

In May we’re absolutely thrilled to be publishing The Life and Time of Lonny Quicke – a brilliant new novel about family, secrets and terrible power, from the acclaimed author of The Middler and TrooFriend, Kirsty Applebaum.

And today we’re delighted to be sharing an early preview of the book – you can read the first few chapters below!

Lonny is a lifeling. He has the power to heal any living creature and bring it back from the dead. But he pays a price for this gift – by lengthening the creature’s life, he shortens his own. So Lonny has to be careful, has to stay hidden in the forest. Because if people knew what he could do, Lonny would be left with no life at all…

A gripping, atmospheric and heartfelt new story for readers aged 9-12, The Life and Time of Lonny Quicke is perfect for fans of Malorie Blackman, Meg Rosoff, and Frances Hardinge.

The Life and Time of Lonny Quicke is out on May 6th! You can pre-order a copy from Waterstones here, Bookshop.org here and from Amazon here.

If you’d like to stay up-to-date with all of our books news, including award news, early previews, and giveaways, you can sign up to our newsletter here.