Skip to content
Posted on December 17, 2020

Take a look inside The Secret Detectives

We’re publishing some brilliant new fiction next year, including The Secret Detectives, by Ella Risbridger – a hugely gripping historical mystery, from an incredible new voice in children’s fiction.

And today we’re sharing an early preview of the book – you can read the first few chapters below!

When Isobel Petty is orphaned, she finds herself being taken away from her home in India and sent to live with a distant uncle in England. Onboard the S.S. Mariana, she witnesses a shocking act – somebody being thrown overboard in the middle in the night. But when the ship’s captain insists that nobody is missing, Isobel and her two new reluctant friends must solve two mysteries – the identities of both the murderer and the victim – before they reach England and the culprit has the chance to escape.

Inspired by The Secret Garden and the golden age of crime writing, The Secret Detectives is perfect for fans of Robin Stevens and Katherine Rundell. You can read the first few chapters below:


Order the book.

The Secret Detectives will be published on February 4th – you can order a copy from Waterstones here, Hive here, and Amazon here.

Don’t forget to sign up to our books newsletter to stay up-to-date with all of our books news at this page, and you’ll never miss a thing.