The best children's fiction of the Summer - Nosy Crow Skip to content
Posted by Tom, August 10, 2018

The best children’s fiction of the Summer

There’ve been some wonderful reviews of Nosy Crow books over the last week in summer reading round-ups!

A Chase in Time – the first book in an action-packed new series written by Sally Nicholls and illustrated by Brett Helquist – has been included in The Telegraph’s round-up of the best children’s and young adult books of 2018 (so far).

A brilliant time-slip adventure series for 7+ readers, Emily Bearn calls the book “good clean fun … Nicholls is a wonderful storyteller.” You can read the full review here – and here’s a look inside the book:

Buy the book online.

And The Infinite Lives of Maisie Day, the latest book by multi-award-winning Christopher Edge, has been included in The Spectator’s round-up of the best summer reading for children.

Melanie McDonagh writes: “One of the rules of good fiction is to eschew identical twins and alternative universes. But The Infinite Lives of Maisie Day goes by its own rules; it’s an unsettling story about a clever little girl who finds herself eerily alone on her birthday, involving sibling envy, death, computers and alternative realities. Quite extraordinary.”

A mind-bending mystery for 9+ readers, combining cutting-edge science, gripping adventure and real heart, The Infinite Lives of Maisie Day is perfect for fans of Frank Cottrell Boyce, Ross Welford, and Neil Gaiman. Here’s our trailer for the book:

Buy the book online.

And here’s a look inside:

Buy the book online.