Skip to content
Posted on April 29, 2021

The Life and Time of Lonny Quicke is Blackwell’s Children’s Book of the Month

Blackwell’s Booksellers have announced their Children’s Book of the Month for May – and we’re absolutely delighted that The Life and Time of Lonny Quicke, by Kirsty Applebaum, has been chosen!

From the highly-acclaimed author of The Middler and TrooFriend, The Life and Time of Lonny Quicke is a gripping new novel of secrets and terrible power – perfect for fans of Malorie Blackman, Meg Rosoff, and Frances Hardinge.

Lonny is a lifeling. He has the power to heal any living creature and bring it back from the dead. But he pays a price for this gift – by lengthening the creature’s life, he shortens his own. So Lonny has to be careful, has to stay hidden in the forest. Because if people knew what he could do, Lonny would be left with no life at all…

Read the first few chapters:

You can order a copy of The Life and Time of Lonny Quicke from Blackwell’s here.

Don’t forget to sign up to our books newsletter here to be the first to know about our latest news, including exclusive previews, discounts and giveaways.