Back

Three Nosy Crow books included in the 2019 Summer Reading Challenge

Space Chase stacked image

The book collection for this year’s Summer Reading Challenge has been announced, and we’re absolutely thrilled to see that three Nosy Crow titles are on the list!

The Summer Reading Challenge takes place every year during the summer holidays. It encourages children aged 4 to 11 to read six books during the long summer holiday, to keep up their reading skills and confidence and to complete the Challenge.

Children receive special rewards each time they finish a book and there’s a certificate for everyone who completes the Challenge. The Summer Reading Challenge is open to all primary school aged children and is designed for all reading abilities. Schools work with local libraries and give out information to encourage children to take part, and most libraries run Summer Reading Challenge linked early years activity for pre-schoolers.

There’s a different theme each year – this year’s theme is Space Chase.

There are three Nosy Crow titles included in this year’s selection – here’s a look at each.

The Same But Different Too, written by Karl Newson and illustrated by Kate Hindley, is included in this year’s younger books collection.

These children and animals are all very different to each other. Some are big, some are small. Some are gentle, some are rough. Everyone is playful, but who’s the best at hiding? But one thing’s certain: they all love a good bedtime story! The perfect picture book for little ones who are just beginning to make sense of their place in the world.

SameButDifferentCVR.indd

Preorder on Amazon

Shifty McGifty and Slippery Sam: The Aliens Are Coming! written by Tracey Corderoy and illustrated by Steven Lenton is included in the collection, with three more slapstick adventures from our favourite doggy detectives, all set in the summer sun. The much-loved picture book pooches appear here in a two-colour fiction format, ideal for children growing in confidence as readers and beginning to read alone.

Repro_Shifty_TheAliensAreComing_cvr.indd

Preorder on Amazon

And finally, the much-awaited The Boy Who Flew by Fleur Hitchcock has been included in this year’s older books selection.

Athan Wilde dreams of flight. When his friend, Mr Chen, is murdered, Athan must rescue the flying machine they were building together and stop it falling into the wrong hands. But keeping the machine safe puts his family in terrible danger. What will Athan choose – flight or family?

From the acclaimed author of Murder In Midwinter, Fleur Hitchcock’s The Boy Who Flew is a thrilling, murderous tale set among the steep rooftops and slippery characters of Athan’s intricately imagined world. Perfect for fans of Philip Pullman, Peter Bunzl and Philip Reeve.

BoyWhoFlew_cvr_highres

Preorder on Amazon

You can find out more about the Summer Reading Challenge, and read this year’s complete book collections, here.

Back

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Back to top