Back

Watch Catherine Bruton read the opening chapters of No Ballet Shoes in Syria

This May we are incredibly proud to be publishing No Ballet Shoes in Syria by Catherine Bruton – a captivating story, filled with warmth and heart, with wonderfully authentic ballet writing and an important message championing the rights of refugees. And today we’re delighted to share a preview of the book – you can watch author Catherine Bruton reading the first two chapters of No Ballet Shoes in Syria in the video at the top of this post, and read the opening chapters below.

The book has already received some wonderful advance praise – Hilary McKay, Costa Prize-winning author of The Skylarks’ War, called it “wise and kind and unputdownable”, and Natasha Farrant, author of The Children of Castle Rock, called the book “a perfect balance of tragedy and triumph”.

No Ballet Shoes in Syria tells the story of Aya – eleven years old and newly arrived in Britain with her mum and baby brother, seeking asylum from war in Syria.

When Aya stumbles across a local ballet class, the formidable dance teacher spots her exceptional talent and believes that Aya has the potential to earn a prestigious ballet scholarship.

But at the same time, Aya and her family must fight to be allowed to remain in the country, to make a home for themselves and to find Aya’s father – separated from the rest of the family during the journey from Syria.

Perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild’s Ballet Shoes, Lorna Hill’s Sadlers Wells series, and Pamela Brown’s The Swish of the Curtain, this is beautiful, classic storytelling.

And here’s a look inside the book:

Pre-order the book.

Back

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Back to top