Skip to content

Eleven Excellent Books to Celebrate World Ocean Day

From gorgeous sea-themed picture books and interactive board books, to gripping middle grade set in a sleepy seaside town, there's something here to help all ages celebrate our ocean.

All of our paperback picture books come with a free Stories Aloud audio reading.

Find out more about Stories Aloud

Looking for Emily

Written by Fiona Longmuir
9-12

A hugely gripping, fast-paced mystery adventure, with brilliant twists and turns, from a fresh and exciting new voice in children's books. When twelve-year-old Lily moves to the sleepy seaside town of Edge, she's sure that nothing exciting is ever going to happen to her again. But when she stumbles upon…

See more

The House on the Edge

Written by Alex Cotter Illustrated by Kathrin Honesta
9-12

A tense thriller that's impossible to put down - perfect for fans of Emma Carroll and Fleur Hitchcock. Where has Faith's dad gone? Why has he left his family living in an old house perched on a crumbling cliff top? A crack has appeared in the cliff and Faith watches…

See more

The Boy Who Met a Whale

Written by Nizrana Farook
9-12

From the author of The Girl Who Stole an Elephant comes another brilliant escapade. A thrilling adventure set in fictional Sri Lanka, jam-packed with peril and kidnap and a huge blue whale! Razi, a local fisherboy, is watching turtle eggs hatch when he sees a boat bobbing into view. With…

See more

National Trust: Big Outdoors for Little Explorers: Seaside

Illustrated by Anne-Kathrin Behl
0-2

Explore the big outdoors in these action-packed animal board books with sliders on every page. Published in collaboration with the National Trust, this brand new series of board books will inspire a love of nature in even the littlest of animal lovers. With vibrant artwork printed on white board, robust…

See more

Axel Scheffler’s Flip Flap Ocean

Illustrated by Axel Scheffler
2-5

Crazy underwater creatures in this bonkers book of mixed-up animals from bestselling, award-winning illustrator, Axel Scheffler What do you get if you cross a squid with a fish? It's a squish, of course! And how about a shark and a turtle? Why, that's a shurtle! With over 121 possible creations,…

See more

National Trust: Where’s Mr Puffin?

Illustrated by Ingela P Arrhenius
0-2

The original, award-winning Felt Flap series - perfect for babies and toddlers! Each title in this stylish series has five spreads with friendly characters to find behind colourful felt flaps. In Where's Mr Puffin?, you're on the look out for Mrs Kingfisher, Mr Blackbird, Mrs Swan and Mr Puffin himself!…

See more

Listen to the Seaside

Illustrated by Marion Billet
0-2

An internationally bestselling series of board books with amazing real-life sounds! What sounds do a seagull, a sea lion, a dolphin, a deep-sea diver, a boat and an otter make? Push the buttons to find out! Aimed at babies and toddlers, this ground-breaking series of interactive board books has a…

See more

Look, There’s a Submarine!

Illustrated by Esther Aarts
0-2

Follow the holes to read the story in this interactive deepsea adventure with a peekaboo hole on every page! In this bold board book series, little ones will love finding the holes with their fingers, peeping through and turning the page to see what the holes become. With a gentle…

See more

National Trust: Look What I Found at the Seaside

Written by Moira Butterfield Illustrated by Jesús Verona
2-5

Discover a world of wonder on a seaside stroll with this beautiful picture book from the National Trust. Chasing waves and having fun, water sparkling in the sun . . . Look what I found! A curly seashell. Inside it shines bright, like a pearl. Set off on an adventure…

See more

National Trust: The Wide, Wide Sea

Written by Anna Wilson Illustrated by Jenny Løvlie
2-5

A lyrical and inspirational picture book about protecting nature from plastic pollution. When a young child forges a special connection with a seal on a trip to the seaside, their imagination takes them on an unforgettable journey. Through their eyes, we have a chance to explore everything the amazing beach…

See more

National Trust: Go Wild at the Seaside

Written by Goldie Hawk Illustrated by Rachael Saunders
9-12

A seaside guide for young boys and girls with a thirst for adventure. This pocket-sized adventure guide teaches young adventurers about all the fun you can have at the seaside: what to pack, how to spot sea creatures and wildlife, how to catch a fish and much, much more! Children…

See more