Skip to content

Five of the best summer adventure books for 9 to 12 year-olds

When the sun is shining, it’s great to get lost in an epic story, so we’ve put together a list of five brilliant books to enjoy this summer. From unmissable journeys through the jungle to getting lost in space, these books are perfect for children who love adventure!

The Girl Who Stole an Elephant

Written by Nizrana Farook
9-12

Join Chaya and her friends on an unmissable journey through the jungle, where leeches lurk and revolution is stirring. Can Chaya leave her village a thief and return a hero? This fast-paced adventure about friendship, bravery and one very special elephant is the perfect book to get lost in!

See more

The Middler

Written by Kirsty Applebaum
9-12

leven-year-old Maggie lives in Fennis Wick, enclosed and protected from the outside world by a boundary, beyond which the Quiet War rages and the dirty, dangerous wanderers roam. Her brother Jed is an eldest, revered and special. A hero. Her younger brother is Trig – everyone loves Trig. But Maggie’s just a middler; invisible and left behind. Then, one hot September day, she meets Una, a hungry wanderer girl in need of help, and everything Maggie has ever known gets turned on its head. Narrated expertly and often hilariously by Maggie, we experience the trials and frustrations of being the forgotten middle child, the child with no voice, even in her own family. This gripping story of forbidden friendship, loyalty and betrayal is perfect for fans of Malorie Blackman, Meg Rosoff and Frances Hardinge.

See more

Orion Lost

Written by Alastair Chisholm
9-12

The transport ship Orion is four months out of Earth when catastrophe strikes – leaving the ship and everyone on board stranded in deep space. Suddenly it’s up to thirteen-year-old Beth and her friends to navigate through treacherous and uncharted territory to reach safety. But a heavily-damaged ship, space pirates, a mysterious alien species, and an artificial intelligence that Beth doesn’t know if she can trust means that getting home has never been so difficult... Hugely gripping, with incredible twists and a fast-paced, action-packed story, this is an unputdownable science fiction adventure – perfect for fans of Star Wars.

See more

The Longest Night of Charlie Noon

Written by Christopher Edge
9-12

Journey deep into the woods in this breathtaking book from award-winning author Christopher Edge. When Charlie, Dizzy and Johnny get lost in the woods one night, time begins to play tricks on them. Can they solve the impossible puzzles and find a way out of the woods?

See more

FloodWorld

Written by Tom Huddleston
9-12

Immerse yourself in a world of pirates, outlaws and epic adventures in this gripping series. Kara and Joe spend their days navigating the perilous waterways of a sunken city. When they find a mysterious map, they end up in a world of trouble. From floating towns to hi-tech submarines, Kara and Joe must fight for their lives and stop FloodWorld’s walls from tumbling down.

See more