Stories Aloud
Publication date: 04 Jul 2019
ISBN: 9781788004718
Size: 129 x 198 mm
Length: 304 pages

Anna at War

9-12
Quantity

“Moving and utterly enthralling” – Lissa Evans

As life for German Jews becomes increasingly perilous, Anna’s parents put her on a train leaving for England. But the war follows her to Kent, and soon Anna finds herself caught up in a web of betrayal and secrecy. How can she prove whose side she’s on when she can’t tell anyone the truth? But actions speak louder than words, and Anna has a dangerous plan…

A brilliant and moving wartime adventure from the author of Evies Ghost.

Cover illustration by Daniela Terrazzini.

Stories Aloud

All of our paperback picture books come with a free Stories Aloud audio reading.

Find out more about Stories Aloud

Listen to the first chapter

Take a look inside

“Peters tells Anna’s story of escape with great humanity, and this novel is an excellent way to whet young appetites for classics such as When Hitler Stole Pink Rabbit by Judith Kerr and Carrie’s War by Nina Bawden.”

– Alex O’Connell, The Times, Children’s Book of the Week

“A fast-paced adventure, whose elegant prose and cliffhanger chapters should keep even less confident readers gripped to the thrilling end.”

– Emily Bearn, The Telegraph

“A gripping, moving piece of historical fiction.”

– Imogen Russell Williams, The Guardian

“The strength of this book lies in Peters’s skill at building suspicion and showing how fear breeds cruelty at every level of society.”

– Sarah Morris, The Daily Mail

“Helen Peters balances adventure and intrigue with this emotional coming-of-age story.”

– Emma Dunn and Sarah Mallon, The Scotsman

“Timely themes of emigration and prejudice are woven into a cracking adventure story. Fans of Emma Carroll and Philippa Pearce will love this.”

– Fiona Noble, The Bookseller

“Because I believed in Anna, her war came alive for me. Her struggle, her bravery, all those things were completely real and I read the book overnight, unable to put it down. Magnificent, brilliant, heartbreaking.”

– Fleur Hitchcock, author of The Boy Who Flew

“Anna is a fine, brave, resourceful heroine, and I found her journey on the Kindertransport both moving and utterly enthralling.”

– Lissa Evans, author of Wed Wabbit

“A nail-biting and affecting adventure which explores themes of the plight of war refugees and prejudice.”

– Zoe James Williams, South Wales Evening Post

“A sense of danger runs through the whole novel, as well as the poignant plight of so many Jewish children at that time. A moving war time adventure.”

– LoveReading4Schools

“This is one of those excellent books that combines an exciting, gripping story with an emotional and moral backdrop.”

– Reading Zone

“There is so much excitement, bravery and nail biting moments throughout this book and I dare anyone not to be impressed with Anna.”

– My Shelves are Full (blog)

“A complete game changer in children’s historical fiction.”

– Scott Evans, The Reader Teacher (blog)

“This story is truly inspirational:  heart-breaking in places, but also full of hope that adversity can be overcome, and that goodness will shine through in our darkest moments.”

– Book Craic (blog)

“Dedicated to “all the children who have had to leave their homes and make new lives in other places” is this moving account of one child’s arrival in Britain with the Kindertransport. With a cardboard label around her neck and one small suitcase, Anna is fostered by a kind couple and taken to Kent. But daily life during wartime is not straightforward…”

– Ann Packer, Noted

Rights sold

Find out how to contact us below.

Rights

Email: [email protected]

Telephone: +44 202 33 55 10

Press

Email: [email protected]

Telephone: +44 2070897575

Sales

Email: [email protected]

Telephone: +442070897575

General

Email: [email protected]

Telephone: +44 2070897575