Login | Sign Up

Nosy Crow

Toggle menu
Anna at War

Anna at War

Author Helen Peters
Age

8-12

Pages

304

Clear selection
Publication date N/A
ISBN N/A
Size N/A

“Moving and utterly enthralling” – Lissa Evans

As life for German Jews becomes increasingly perilous, Anna’s parents put her on a train leaving for England. But the war follows her to Kent, and soon Anna finds herself caught up in a web of betrayal and secrecy. How can she prove whose side she’s on when she can’t tell anyone the truth? But actions speak louder than words, and Anna has a dangerous plan…

A brilliant and moving wartime adventure from the author of Evies Ghost.

Cover illustration by Daniela Terrazzini.

Take a Look Inside

What the Critics Said

“Timely themes of emigration and prejudice are woven into a cracking adventure story. Fans of Emma Carroll and Philippa Pearce will love this.”

– Fiona Noble, The Bookseller

“Because I believed in Anna, her war came alive for me. Her struggle, her bravery, all those things were completely real and I read the book overnight, unable to put it down. Magnificent, brilliant, heartbreaking.”

– Fleur Hitchcock, author of The Boy Who Flew

“Anna is a fine, brave, resourceful heroine, and I found her journey on the Kindertransport both moving and utterly enthralling.”

– Lissa Evans, author of Wed Wabbit

“A sense of danger runs through the whole novel, as well as the poignant plight of so many Jewish children at that time. A moving war time adventure.”

– LoveReading4Schools

“There is so much excitement, bravery and nail biting moments throughout this book and I dare anyone not to be impressed with Anna.”

– My Shelves are Full (blog)

“A complete game changer in children’s historical fiction.”

– Scott Evans, The Reader Teacher (blog)

Customer Reviews

Write a review

Be the first to review “Anna at War”

Back to top