Stories Aloud
Look Inside!
Publication date: 09 May 2024
ISBN: 9781839946493
Size: 198 x 129 mm
Length: 304 pages
Fiction

Bird Boy

Quantity

“Vivid and deeply empathetic, Catherine is a wonderful storyteller.” Phil Earle

“A wonderfully moving story about the healing power of nature, perfect for fans of Phil Earle and Katya Balen” Anthony McGowan

“Unputdownable.A gift to nature loving young people” Hilary McKay

“A heart-felt story about the healing power of nature.Moving and powerful, I loved it” Gill Lewis

From the multi-award-winning author of No Ballet Shoes in Syria, comes a story of migration, conservation, healing and hope as a grieving boy forms an unbreakable bond with an injured bird.

After the tragic death of his mother, eleven year old Will is sent to temporarily stay with his uncle in the mountains. After years trapped in a high-rise flat, with only birds for company, Will doesn’t know how he’ll survive a place like this, but he soon finds solace in the woods, when he’s surrounded by birdsong.

With his new friend Omar – a refugee from Afghanistan – Will discovers an osprey nest, with two small chicks inside. He forms an unbreakable bond with the birds, especially the smallest chick, who they name Whitetip. But when tragedy almost strikes again one stormy night, and Whitetip is knocked out of the nest – breaking a wing, Will is determined to save her. Smuggling her down from the mountain, he finds a way to keep her alive.

As Will helps Whitetip to grow and to heal, he finds a strength inside himself that he never knew he had. Maybe, finally, Will can find a way to take flight too…

Stories Aloud

All of our paperback picture books come with a free Stories Aloud audio reading.

Find out more about Stories Aloud

Take a look inside

Rights sold

Turkish

Find out how to contact us below.

Rights

Email: [email protected]

Telephone: +44 2070897575

Press

Email: [email protected]

Telephone: +44 2070897575

Sales

Email: [email protected]

Telephone: +442070897575

General

Email: [email protected]

Telephone: +44 2070897575