Stories Aloud
Publication date: 10 Jan 2019
ISBN: 9780857639103
Size: 198 x 129 mm
Length: 240 pages

Little Bird Flies

9-12
Quantity

Nominated for the 2020 CILIP Carnegie Medal

Bridie lives on the remote Scottish island of Tornish, the youngest of three sisters. Although she loves her island, with its wild seas and big skies, she guiltily nurses a secret dream of flight – to America and the freedom of the New World. But her family are struggling under the spiteful oppression of the new Laird, and it seems that even some of the Laird’s own household are desperate to leave. When the Laird’s full cruelty becomes apparent, there’s no more time for daydreams as Bridie needs to help the people she loves escape to safety.

The first in a gripping, dramatic new series from much-loved author, Karen McCombie.

"This involving, evocative tale, narrated by Bridie with a hint of period language, is a study of rich and poor, offering clearly-drawn characters."- Nicolette Jones, Sunday Times, Children’s Book of the Week

"There’s heart in this Scottish adventure. . . This is (Karen’s) best. It has a vivid setting, emotional punch and characters to really care about." – Alex O’Connell, The Times, Children’s Book of the Week

"It may all seem a far cry from the "slushy, gushy love songs" of Ally’s World. And yet here, as there, McCombie displays her gift, which is to create a narrator who sounds thoroughly convincing, and to inhabit the consciousness of a child." Emily Bearn, The Telegraph

"Little Bird Flies by Karen McCombie is the evocative and beautifully written tale of Bridie (Little Bird) who dreams of a bigger life than the one she’s destined for on her tiny Scottish isle of Tornish. With themes of immigration and prejudice and characters you’ll root for, this will appeal to fans of Emma Carroll and Marie-Louise Jensen." – Michelle Harrison, author of A Pinch of Magic

Stories Aloud

All of our paperback picture books come with a free Stories Aloud audio reading.

Find out more about Stories Aloud

Listen to the first chapter

Take a look inside

Rights sold

Find out how to contact us below.

Rights

Email: [email protected]

Telephone: +44 202 33 55 10

Press

Email: [email protected]

Telephone: +44 2070897575

Sales

Email: [email protected]

Telephone: +442070897575

General

Email: [email protected]

Telephone: +44 2070897575