Stories Aloud
Publication date: 02 Jul 2015
ISBN: 9780857634795
Size: 129 x 198 mm
Length: 320 pages

My Brother Is a Superhero

9-12
Quantity

Luke is a comic-mad eleven-year old who shares a treehouse with his geeky older brother, Zack. Luke’ s only mistake is to go for a wee right at the wrong time. While he’s gone, an alien gives his undeserving, never-read-a-comic-in-his-life brother superpowers and then tells him to save the universe. Luke is massively annoyed about this, but when Zack is kidnapped by his arch-nemesis, Luke and his friends have only five days to find him and save the world…

Books don’t come much funnier than these! Packed with heart and soul, this series is perfect for fans of David Baddiel and David Walliams.

My Brother Is a Superhero was the winner of the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize 2016.

Look out for:

My Gym Teacher is an Alien Overlord

My Evil Twin is a Supervillain

My Arch-Enemy is a Brain in a Jar</p

My Cousin is a Time-Traveller

Stories Aloud

All of our paperback picture books come with a free Stories Aloud audio reading.

Find out more about Stories Aloud

Listen to the first chapter

Take a look inside

“You know a book is going to be good when you’re giggling after five minutes. Luke, the comic-reading, superhero expert, goes for a wee and on his return discovers his older brother, Zack, has been visited by aliens and has superpowers. Luke is both jealous and secretly impressed. However, when Zack is kidnapped by his arch-nemesis, it is Luke and his friends who come to the rescue. Ideal for comic readers and superhero experts.”

– The Best New Children’s Books Summer 2015 Guardian supplement

“David Solomons’s My Brother Is a Superhero, illustrated by Laura Ellen Anderson, just took the Waterstones Children’s Book of the Year award. It involves another boy obsessed with superpowers: Luke, who missed the chance to acquire them because he nipped out for a wee. His geeky brother Zack gets to be world-saving Star Lad instead, but Luke has his race-against-time moment when Zack is kidnapped. Full of comic-hero references, the book is a hoot.”

“It blends an exhaustive knowledge of fantasy fiction in books, film, television, comics and computer games (which works even for uninitiates) with a well-observed understanding of family relationships, sibling rivalry, friendships and the things that can be horrible about starting secondary school.”

“It is infused with the spirit of larger than life heroes and colourful comic book trivia yet at its heart is a touching relationship between siblings… so brilliantly plotted that one never knows what to expect next.”

Waterstones (Florentyna Martin, Children’s Buyer)

“The best in contemporary comic writing for children – splendidly zany, full of irresistible trivia, but never scrimping on the emotional undertow that ensures longevity and heart.”

The Guardian, Saturday Review

“This series, which is packed full of superhero references, is engaging from the very first page and has a plot that will keep you reading past your bedtime.”

– Jennifer Killick, author of the Alex Sparrow series

Rights sold

Albanian, Catalan, Chinese (simplified), Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, French, German, Hungarian, Italian, Lithuanian, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese (EU), Romanian, Slovakian, Spanish World, Swedish, Turkish, US English, Serbian

Find out how to contact us below.

Rights

Email: [email protected]

Telephone: +44 202 33 55 10

Press

Email: [email protected]

Telephone: +44 2070897575

Sales

Email: [email protected]

Telephone: +442070897575

General

Email: [email protected]

Telephone: +44 2070897575