Login | Sign Up

Nosy Crow

Toggle menu
Olivia’s First Term

Olivia’s First Term

Author Lyn Gardner
Series Olivia series
Age

8-12

Pages

256

Clear selection
Publication date N/A
ISBN N/A
Size N/A

Olivia is sad and lonely and angry – angry that she’s been dumped with her sister, Eel, at her grandmother’s school, and angrier still that that school turns out to be a stage school where there’s no encouragement for her to do what she loves best: practise her circus skills. But in the course of a turbulent first term, Olivia finds out much more than she bargained for about the theatre, about friendship, about enemies, about her family and about herself.

Take a Look Inside

What the Critics Said

“Gardner’s books sparkle with action and drama … a thoroughly entertaining series with its enticing mix of adventure, stage dreams and feelgood fun.”

The Pocklington Post

Show More...

“Lyn Gardner goes from strength to strength in this series full of complex and developing characters and believable but exciting storylines.”

– The Scotsman

“A story of friendship and family with a heady backdrop of theatre and dance.”

– The Bookseller

Olivia’s First Term is a lovely and accurate portrayal of life in a stage school … which will inspire many would-be performers to follow their dream, even if it is a little different to everyone else’s.”

– kidsreadbooks

I would have loved Olivia’s First Term by Lyn Gardner at about age 12, when I was addicted to Pamela Brown’s The Swish of the Curtain novels … It’s nicely told by Gardner, a well-known theatre critic and champion of theatre for young audiences, with plenty to engross those who love acting, singing and dancing, or just like reading about it.

– The Independent

“This is a gripping story with a sharp eye for the power struggles within the classroom.”

– The Guardian

“with its stage-school setting it is strongly reminiscent of Noel Streatfeild … It has all the classic ingredients for nine year-olds – bitchy rich girl jealous of talented poor girl, parental abandonment, star potential realised.”

– The Telegraph

“With strong characters and a gripping story, girls will enjoy this fresh take on the classic stage story and look forward to the rest of the books in the series.”

– Booktrust

“This book entertains from the start …The plot is fast paced and quickly takes you through a fun-filled term; you get to see how both friendships and enemies are made in the classroom. With great characterisations, this is an exciting first book in a series and ideal for fans of “Glee” and TV talent shows. “

– We Love This Book

“I can see the series being an instant hit with girls, who will love the thought of the glamour of stage school – or is it glamorous?”

– Parents in Touch

“Girls will love this book, it is a great story, with many messages within the story about friendship… I am sure this series could become as popular as Enid Blytons Malory towers and st Clare’s series!”

– The School Run.com

“A hugely enjoyable, escapist, quite traditional series of children’s books … I lapped up the awful stage school brat, the frightfully decent head girl and the sympathetic acting teacher and I felt as though I was 10 years old again.”

– The Stage

“Captures perfectly the conflicting emotions of a young girl at a new school, while depicting the exciting world of the stage”

– The Bookseller

Rights Sold

Bulgarian

Customer Reviews

Write a review

Be the first to review “Olivia’s First Term”

Back to top