Stories Aloud
Publication date: 02 Jun 2011
ISBN: 9780857630162
Size: 129 x 198 mm
Length: 256 pages

Olivia’s First Term

9-12
Quantity

Olivia is sad and lonely and angry – angry that she’s been dumped with her sister, Eel, at her grandmother’s school, and angrier still that that school turns out to be a stage school where there’s no encouragement for her to do what she loves best: practise her circus skills. But in the course of a turbulent first term, Olivia finds out much more than she bargained for about the theatre, about friendship, about enemies, about her family and about herself.

Stories Aloud

All of our paperback picture books come with a free Stories Aloud audio reading.

Find out more about Stories Aloud

Take a look inside

“Gardner’s books sparkle with action and drama … a thoroughly entertaining series with its enticing mix of adventure, stage dreams and feelgood fun.”

“Lyn Gardner goes from strength to strength in this series full of complex and developing characters and believable but exciting storylines.”

– The Scotsman

“A story of friendship and family with a heady backdrop of theatre and dance.”

– The Bookseller

Olivia’s First Term is a lovely and accurate portrayal of life in a stage school … which will inspire many would-be performers to follow their dream, even if it is a little different to everyone else’s.”

“This is a gripping story with a sharp eye for the power struggles within the classroom.”

“with its stage-school setting it is strongly reminiscent of Noel Streatfeild … It has all the classic ingredients for nine year-olds – bitchy rich girl jealous of talented poor girl, parental abandonment, star potential realised.”

“With strong characters and a gripping story, girls will enjoy this fresh take on the classic stage story and look forward to the rest of the books in the series.”

– Booktrust

“This book entertains from the start …The plot is fast paced and quickly takes you through a fun-filled term; you get to see how both friendships and enemies are made in the classroom. With great characterisations, this is an exciting first book in a series and ideal for fans of “Glee” and TV talent shows. “

“I can see the series being an instant hit with girls, who will love the thought of the glamour of stage school – or is it glamorous?”

“Girls will love this book, it is a great story, with many messages within the story about friendship… I am sure this series could become as popular as Enid Blytons Malory towers and st Clare’s series!”

“A hugely enjoyable, escapist, quite traditional series of children’s books … I lapped up the awful stage school brat, the frightfully decent head girl and the sympathetic acting teacher and I felt as though I was 10 years old again.”

– The Stage

“Captures perfectly the conflicting emotions of a young girl at a new school, while depicting the exciting world of the stage”

– The Bookseller

Rights sold

Bulgarian

Find out how to contact us below.

Rights

Email: [email protected]

Telephone: +44 202 33 55 10

Press

Email: [email protected]

Telephone: +44 2070897575

Sales

Email: [email protected]

Telephone: +442070897575

General

Email: [email protected]

Telephone: +44 2070897575