Login | Sign Up

Nosy Crow

Toggle menu
The Boy Who Flew

The Boy Who Flew

Author Fleur Hitchcock
Age

8-12

Pages

256

Clear selection
Publication date N/A
ISBN N/A
Size N/A

Athan Wilde dreams of flight. When his friend, Mr Chen, is murdered, Athan must rescue the flying machine they were building together and stop it falling into the wrong hands. But keeping the machine safe puts his family in terrible danger. What will Athan choose – flight or family?

From the acclaimed author of Murder In Midwinter, Fleur Hitchcock’s The Boy Who Flew is a thrilling, murderous tale set among the steep rooftops and slippery characters of Athan’s intricately imagined world. Perfect for fans of Philip Pullman, Peter Bunzl and Philip Reeve.

Take a Look Inside

Listen to the first chapter

What the Critics Said

“An unputdownable, heart-stopping, white knuckle ride of a book. It will knock your socks off!”

– Catherine Johnson, author of Race to the Frozen North

“Fleur Hitchcock’s latest book soars… It’s a spirited, suspenseful adventure yarn, and its breathless action scenes and multicultural characters present a very un-Austen-like vision of Bath.”

– James Lovegrove, The Financial Times

The Boy Who Flew is a cracker of a story: dastardly villains, a fast-moving plot, richly atmospheric scene setting and a host of lovable children at its core. A tribute to underdogs and ingenious kids from a brilliant storyteller.”

– Abi Elphinstone, author of Sky Song

“Rich in period detail, shocking cruelty and memorable characters, this is cracking, edge-of-your-seat stuff.”

– Sally Morris, The Daily Mail

The Boy who Flew is a fast paced book that races the reader through the twists and turns of its plot. Readers will be on the edge of their seats wanting to know what will happen next.”

– Reading Zone

“A thrilling, murderous tale set among the steep rooftops and slippery characters of Athan’s intricately imagined world.”

–  Rhian Ivory, author of The Boy who Drew the Future

“A ROOF-topping adventure… really taking flight as it races towards its nail-biting climax.”

–  John O’Groat Journal

“With numerous twists and false trails, this is a compelling and imaginative historical thriller for middle grade readers.”

–  BookTrust

“Wonderfully evocative and rattles along at a pace that will hold the interest of every reader… The Boy Who Flew is a thunderingly good period adventure.”

–  The Book Bag (blog)

“Quirky, chilling and atmospheric… This is a gem of a story – with its roller-coaster adventure plot that will have readers gripped from start to finish and wide-eyed with curiosity to the very last page.”

–  Books for Topics (blog)

“Fleur Hitchcock’s exciting other-world thriller oozes atmosphere… Enjoyable adventure for robust readers.”

–  LoveReading4Kids

“I proceeded to devour the book in just three sittings, oh how I love a brilliantly written book that captures my curiosity and this book did just that.”

Book Bound (blog)

“Filled with danger and adventure, I do hope this is the start of a new series…”

Independent Book Reviews (blog)

“Hitchcock has cleverly woven a central plot line about the race to get humans airborne with a spine-chilling thriller which wouldn’t be out of place in a penny dreadful.”

– Library Girl and Book Boy (blog)

“A cast of sparkling characters in a fast moving and dramatic plot that’s packed with nail-biting action.”

– Madge Eekal Reviews (blog)

“What a triumph of a book! Murder, mystery and mayhem!”

– My Shelves Are Full (blog)

The Boy Who Flew is brimful of murder, a chilling, sinister baddy, rooftop escapes, adventure and a brave hero who has dreams, secrets and a warm heart.”

A Library Lady (blog)

The Boy Who Flew by Fleur Hitchcock is one of the darkest and exciting middle-grade adventures I’ve read in a long time… the most enthralling page turner. This is a story that soars.”

– The Book Family Rogerson (blog)

“This a story with twists and turns…This is perfect for readers who like a bit of gore with their crime fiction.”

– Book Murmuration (blog)

“Not for the faint-hearted, ‘The Boy who Flew’ is a gritty, challenging read full of twists and turns with an ultimately satisfying conclusion.”

North Somerset Teachers’ Book Award (blog)

“The descriptions of the city are great and the story literally flies along at a pace.”

Children’s Book Sequels (blog)

Rights Sold

Polish

Customer Reviews

Write a review

Be the first to review “The Boy Who Flew”

Back to top