Back

Discover the inspiration behind I, Cosmo by Carlie Sorosiak – and read an exclusive preview of the book

I, Cosmo | Carlie Sorosiak | Nosy Crow | Ben Mantle

This August we are very proud to be publishing I, Cosmo by Carlie Sorosiak: a moving, beautiful story, with a wonderfully unique hero, from an incredible new voice in middle grade fiction – perfect for fans of Rebecca Stead and Kate DiCamillo. And today we’re delighted to share this piece by Carlie on her inspirations behind this wonderful book – along with an exclusive preview of I, Cosmo.

Here’s Carlie on the inspiration behind the story:

I have always wanted to write a book from a dog’s perspective, because dogs have always been my closest friends. I could talk to them when it seemed like no one else was listening.

Before my family adopted our German shorthaired pointer, Sally, she was our neighbor’s dog. I was six years old, and every night, I’d read to her through the metal fence separating our houses. Together, we visited secret gardens, green gables, and worlds where dragons roamed. At the end of each story, I’d press my nose to hers and say, I love you, silly dog.

Some nights, I’d give anything to go back there, to that tiny yard in suburban North Carolina, even just for a few minutes.

I remember the evening that our neighbor knocked on our door during dinner. (We were eating lasagna, I think; Sally had a soft spot for noodles.) By all accounts, the conversation went something like this.

Neighbor: “I’m going to become a priest.”

My dad: “Well, okay.”

Neighbor: “Can you take my dog? I can’t take my dog.”

My mom: “Are you sure you—?”

Neighbor: “She’s already been to the pound twice. You know what’ll happen if I send her back. They’ll—”

Me, mouthful of lasagna: “Mommy! All I want for my birthday is a dog. Thatdog.”

(My birthday was three whole weeks away, but boy, did I want to give Sally a home; in this very particular instance, I was not above emotional blackmail.)

Sally stayed at our house that night. At herhouse. And for the next seventeen years, I loved her fiercely. I love her fiercely, still.

Here is what I remember most: Sally had the softest ears and the worst breath. She was gentle, but strong when I needed her to be. And I think that she would have liked Cosmo’s story, read to her through the fence.

Thank you, Carlie!

Wise, funny, and filled with warmth, I, Cosmo is Charlotte’s Web meets Little Miss Sunshine – a beautiful and heartwarming story of one dog’s attempt to save his family, become a star, and eat a lot of bacon. And here’s a very first look inside the book – you can read the first chapter of I, Cosmo below:

I, Cosmo will be available in shops in August, and you can pre-order the book now – and if you’d like to stay up to date with all of our book news, you can sign up to our books newsletter here, or with the form below.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

 

 

Back

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Back to top