Skip to content
Posted by Tom, July 8, 2016

Sweet Pizza has been longlisted for the Guardian Children’s Fiction Prize!

The longlist for the 2016 Guardian Children’s Fiction Prize has been announced today, and we are incredibly proud that Sweet Pizza, the wonderful new book by Cowgirl author G. R. Gemin, has been recognised!

A great story that has immigration at its core, Sweet Pizza is perfect for fans of Jacqueline Wilson and Michael Morpurgo – it’s got fantastic dramatic writing, strong characters, and big-hearted social realism.

Guardian Children’s Fiction Prize judge Kate Saunders said of the book: “The warmth and charm of ‘Sweet Pizza’ are quite extraordinary; though there are some very moving moments, it is mainly a joyous and eccentric comedy.”

Joe’s family run the local cafe in Bryn Mawr. It’s seen better days and Joe’s mam wants to sell it. But it was started before the war by Joe’s Italian great-grandfather, and he can’t bear to see it shut. And Joe loves his Italian heritage: the language, the opera, the lasagne! As Joe looks down the depressing High Street, he’s determined to bring this diverse town together through good food and fine times! He vows to save the family business, and find out more about his past at the same time….

Here’s a look inside the book:

Buy the book.

You can read more about the prize, and find the full longlist, here – the shortlist will be announced in October, and the overall winner will be revealed in November.

Congratulations, Giancarlo, and good luck!