Two Nosy Crow books longlisted for the 2017 Klaus Flugge Prize! - Nosy Crow Skip to content
Posted by Tom, March 8, 2017

Two Nosy Crow books longlisted for the 2017 Klaus Flugge Prize!

The longlist for the 2017 Klaus Flugge Prize have been announced today – and we’re absolutely thrilled that two Nosy Crow books have been recognised!

Established in 2016, the Klaus Flugge Prize is awarded to the most promising and exciting newcomer to children’s book illustration. It honours publisher Klaus Flugge, founder of children’s publisher Andersen Press and a supremely influential figure in picture books.

The judges for the 2017 prize are Axel Scheffler, illustrator of The Gruffalo; Nicolette Jones, children’s books editor of the Sunday Times; Tamara Macfarlane, owner of Tales on Moon Lanechildren’s bookshop; and last year’s winner Nicholas John Frith. The panel will be chaired by Julia Eccleshare, director of the children’s programme of the Hay Festival.

And we’re incredibly pleased that Baxter’s Book, by Hrefna Bragadottir, and Little Mouse’s Big Breakfast, by Christine Pym, have both been longlisted!

Brimming with heart and humour, and with an adorable (and unusual) hero, Baxter’s Book is perfect for fans of Open Very Carefully and other books-about-books – it’s a remarkable picture book debut. Here’s a look inside:

Buy the book online.

And smart, funny, and brilliant to read aloud, Little Mouse’s Big Breakfast is another fantastic debut, from super-talented author/illustrator, Christine Pym. Here’s a look inside the book:

Buy the book online.

The shortlist for the Klaus Flugge Prize will be announced in May, and the winner will be revealed in September. You can read more about the award, and find the full longlist, here.

Congratulations, Hrefna and Christine!

See more: